The Value of $1000 USD to me

Being a Nigerian is 100% at times not a thing of joy but when it gets a chance to blow some joy in your face, it always feels good.

I'm sure by now you already know the financial predicament of Nigeria's economy. It's not the worst but at the same time, it's not something to sing about. (Even though some people actually sing about it.)

@bhattg asked a question early this week. What is the value of a $1000 for you? And for you in this case is referring to me. So, for you to understand the value of $1000 to me I must first introduce you to the value of $1000 in my country.


Source

In my country Nigeria, one dollar equals four hundred and fifteen Naira(#415) currently. Now, with this value in mind, you can only begin to imagine the actual value of $1000. Or, you can just multiply $1000 by 415, and that will equate to the sum of #415,000 which is nearly half a million. But this is very much dependent on the naira at the moment because in some cases which are usually not very rare you could be smiling to the bank with a sum of #500,000- #600,000.

Now that I've established the value of $1000 in my country, let's now focus on the value of the $1000 to me.
Two years ago $1000 would have been able to solve 95% of my problems because at that time I was 100% a student whose only worry is to read, eat, sleep and wake.

But at this point, I believe it's only fair that I say that $1000 still holds a lot of value to me.

As a veterinarian, I am looking to establish a practice or clinic of my own based on the law of my country, but it is next to impossible to do so if you are not on a solid two million naira ground.

So you see, if I had $1000 (USD) right now, starting up my establishment would be a piece of cake.



Now it's your turn, what is the value of $1000 to you?

@luckyguy555
@matyr
@modifiers


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency