Rivers in theHunter: Call of the Wild

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!



In theHunter: Call of the Wild each animal spends most of their time in one of the three need zones: drinking, feeding and resting. These zones can be spread apart and have specific timings. Animals will stay in one need zone until they are done with that specific need and then will spend some time travelling to the next need zone. Depending on the nature of the animal each prefers to have different time zones. For example, lions drink from 12:00 - 15:00 and you will have good chances to find them at that period.

The best zone for hunting, in my opinion, is the drinking zone. Each map has only a limited number of water bodies and sometimes they are far from each other so they will have even more animal activity as animals travel from far to these water bodies. Setting up tents near these zones is a good strategy.


In today's post, I will take you to a lot of different water bodies, mostly rivers in the game. I will try to show you as many rivers as I can and will take some beautiful pictures.



Yukon Valley National Reserve has a region called Hansson River Basin and you will find a river which covers a lot of area in this region. And you can find a lot of animal activity on the banks of this river. I saw a bear when I was there to take pictures.

I didn't want to waste this opportunity so took my shot.


He died and rolled into a pile of rock. Can you even see its face from this shot? I tried my best to show you the big river on the other side. Sheru was seriously considering taking a dip but I guess, the water was too cold for his liking.


It even started snowing after a while. So you can guess how cold the water was...lol.

Let me take you to the Hirschfelden map and show you the river Hirschdorf which cuts the map into two halves. It runs from east to west of the entire map.


There are some beautiful medieval bridges constructed over this river.

Now, we are going to the Layton Lakes District. This is famous for its lakes, but not only lakes but also a big river in the middle of the map. You can see it from the map easily. It is like a 'Y' shaped river so two smaller rivers or tributaries meet to create a big one. But the water in this river is low.


This shallow water along with some reed growth makes it look like a lot of smaller lakes.

Now let's go to a bigger river. I don't know the name of this river, it doesn't show up on the map. I can tell you this one is in Cautro Collinas reserve, a Spanish map. This is the one from my cover photo.


Sheru loves to go in water and he did the same with this one. But he can't cross this one easily. It looks deep and quite wide too.

Close to this place, was a big Red deer. He looked like he was bugged out and didn't run away. Even when I got super close to it it didn't move.


Sheru took matters into his own hands paws and tried to investigate this strange occurrence. Why would the deer not run away? What is he thinking? (I have seen some bugs in this game, mostly with the multiplayer sessions but this wasn't even a multiplayer session, pretty weird bug... they had an update yesterday, so maybe they broke something?)

I had to put him to rest.


Before I go to another location, let me show you what this river looks like from a distance. There was a hill just south of the river and you can take good shots of the river from that place.

Revontuli Coast is another beatuiful map. This one is an unpopular one and very few people host this as multiplayer too. I think it is mostly because most of the huntable species in this map are class 1 animals like Ducks, geese, rabbits etc and very few of them are big unique species.

But wait, this map has no rivers... but the lakes here are very picturesque and huge.

Let's go to our last destination, Emerald Coast, Australia. This one is pretty unique and quite satisfying to hunt in.

There is a river crisscrossing this reserve and some smaller streams as well.


And there are a lot of maps with no rivers and just lakes. While there are maps which are surrounded by rivers on all four sides and they form a natural border in those maps.

I have shared those in my earlier posts as well. I will leave you here.

Thanks for reading...

Until next shot...

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, theHunter: Call of the Wild.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center