Kena: Bridge of Spirits, is visual treat!

Hello and Welcome back to my blog!


Whenever I come across beautiful indie games, I get attached to them and find them really interesting. Remember the Ori games? This game also reminds me of Ori but in a different way. Kena: Bridge of Spirits is an action-adventure game with fun exploration and some cute graphics. The cutscenes in this game have Pixar-like animation quality.


It is a story-driven game where our protagonist, Kena, a young 'Spirit guide' looks for a sacred mountain shrine in the middle of a forest. She finds some helpful companions called 'Rots' who can eat the dying parts of the forest and also help us with some tasks.

She has a magical staff which helps her defeat the evil things in this mysterious forest.


I want to share some of the screenshots I took while playing the early parts of this game.


I wish the game had a photo mode. What a missed opportunity. Making a beautiful game without a photo mode. This should be a crime...lol. Well, at least, there is an auto-hide HUD option that comes to the rescue.


The 'Rots' are cute little magical friends that help Kena and she has to find more along the way. One of the first tasks after entering this forest was to find 5 Rots so we could use them to clear a poisonous stretch of the forest.


You can sit and have some interactions with them as well. For now, I can just see three interactions: a kiss (one of the Rot kissing Kena on the cheeks), a sneeze (a cute sneeze from one of the Rot) and a dance (the little guy jumps on Kena's head...so cute).


Look at how clean this water was...she loves to swim!


She may look weak but don't go with the looks...look at her climbing this wall. Reminds me of Lara Craft...lol.


And she can fight too. Her staff is more of a physical weakness. At least, what I have seen it so far.


A perfect mix of cute and lethal...right? I had no difficulty dealing with the few enemies the game had thrown at me. Maybe the difficulty will rise quickly. I wouldn't mind that either.

But so far, it feels like this is more focused on the little puzzles and exploration of the story. Combat might not be its strong suit. Or maybe I could be wrong by the time I finish this game.


There is an interesting mechanism in this game. The little guys can be used in combat but they get scared by seeing enemies so we just need to hit some enemies and they will gain courage, only after that they can be used. They deal little amount of damage but they are good distraction.


You can also command them to help in the platforming part and solving puzzles. They can lift heavy objects and we can command them to place these objects wherever we like. These are very handy minions. xD


I hope I am not giving them too much work. I love the graphics and art design in this game. So magical and full of rich colours. The cutscenes are even better and far better than I expected from an indie studio.

We were introduced to the villain, a corrupted spirit.


He also has some powers and spawned a few enemies to kill us. He is not fighting us directly though. Looks like we will have an epic fight sometime later.

Anyway, let me know what you think about the graphics and my shots from this game. For an indie studio, this is an amazing visual quality.

Thanks for reading...

Until next time...

Note:

  • All the content is mine unless otherwise stated.
  • Screenshots are from the game, Kena: Bridge of Spirits.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center