CCC's Street Art Contest #158 ~ MAUD GONNE StreetArt and a POEM from YEATS in SLIGO - IRELAND 🇮🇪 ~ 9

Hi all 👋🏻

Today I want to share with you a StreetArt find that depicts MAUD GONNE MACBRIDE and a beautiful POEM from YEATS. I discovered this wall while I was driving around the town of SLIGO in IRELAND 🇮🇪 😊

I captured this #mural / #artwork on a #wall on 8 MAY 2023.

The first #photo will be my #entry into the “CCC's Street Art Contest #158” hosted by @digi-me
Thank you @trincowski, @heroldius, @melinda010100, @ervin-lemark, @ecency, @tobetada and @arcange and many more for supporting this #contest!

‼️If you want to know more about this contest: have a look at @digi-me ’s post: CCC's Street Art Contest #158 | 🎁 : 100% Liquid Payout and Ecency points as Prize Pool & Winners of #157‼️
It tells you the rules and how to enter. Join us! It’s truly fun around here 🤩

The Photographs in this post I took with my iPhone… 📱

Let’s have a look at my StreetArt find for today :

Artist: BLOWDESIGNS - NIK PURDY
Title: MAUD GONNE MACBRIDE
Location: ”WINE STREET / UNION STREET” - #SLIGO #IRELAND
Work Created: 2018

Facebook : Blowdesigns Nik Purdy

Instagram : Blowdesigns Nik Purdy

In the following link source to his Facebook page you can see more of this mural while the artist was still working on it. I took a screenshot for you.

Source!

Let’s have some more views of this art work and the poem, with some history about MAUD too:

I first noticed the work from quite far away. Let’s drive slowly by… as you can see… this was no problem with the slow traffic 😉

It so stands out in its surroundings because of the reds and yellows 💛🧡❤️

A little bit closer by.

Such a stunning portrait of MAUD.

Let’s read the Poem in the photo above…

When you are old and grey and full of sleep,
And nodding by the fire, take down this book,
And slowly read, and dream of the soft look
Your eyes had once, and of their shadows deep;

How many loved your moments of glad grace,
And loved your beauty with love false or true,
But one man loved the pilgrim soul in you,
And loved the sorrows of your changing face;

And bending down beside the glowing bars,
Murmur, a little sadly, how Love fled
And paced upon the mountains overhead
And hid his face amid a crowd of stars.
by William Butler Yeats

You can find this POEM in book 📚 The Collected Poems of W. B. Yeats (1989)

Some history about MAUD you find in the following Wikipedia page : Maud GONNE

It tells us;

”Maud Gonne MacBride (Irish: Maud Nic Ghoinn Bean Mhic Giolla Bhríghde; 21 December 1866 – 27 April 1953) was an Irish republican revolutionary, suffragette and actress.
She was of Anglo-Irish descent and was won over to Irish nationalism by the plight of people evicted in the Land Wars. She actively agitated for Home Rule and then for the republic declared in 1916. During the 1930s, as a founding member of the Social Credit Party, she promoted the distributive programme of C. H. Douglas. Gonne was well known for being the muse and long-time love interest of Irish poet W. B. Yeats.”

Do read a bit more about her on this Wikipedia page, she led an interesting live…

And that’s all for todays #StreetArt post my friends. Until the next one! 👋🏻😎
Hope you enjoyed my #photos of this StreetArt find. #haveyoubeenhere
Thank you for looking and reading 😊 🙏🏻 Stay tuned for more… 😉

banner by @irisworld

Any questions or comments, let me know. Always happy to help.

Have a great day all 😎
Grtz Jackie

silver_divider_black.png

The divider by SilverFish / mondoshawan

Unless stated otherwise: All art and photos used in my posts are taken, created and owned by me. If you wish to use any of my photographs, please contact me first. As I have used some commercially myself. We don’t want that you or somebody else gets into trouble 😉 So please don’t use them without my consent.

🖼 My PRINTSHOP: for the purchase of all kind of prints in many sizes from my Artworks 🎨 and Photography 📸 Which come on different objects too. Have a look in My Prints Shop!

banner by @irisworld

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
56 Comments
Ecency