Headless flamingoes

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 2.jpg


Not so long ago, I was showing you a very cool and very pink graffiti I found in Lisbon. I only recognized the author because I saw another one of his works earlier, and I kept the name to check his Instagram.

This one here was the first.

The old and abandoned cork processing factory wall was used as canvas here. It is not a very old graffiti, and I remember seeing it for the first time. I was pretty surprised to see so many colours! And now I can't even remember what was there before.
Google to the rescue :) This was taken in 2019.


image.png
google map


And this is how it looks now. Even the sky got more blue :p


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 1.jpg


Now one cannot pass it by without noticing the colorful birds with chopped-up heads. Flamingoes, water, boats (one little paper boat, actually, and I saw exactly the same one in another piece of this artist; it looks like he likes to repeat some small details here and there), houses... it's all very local. I tried to find some information about this piece, but I couldn't.

The flamingoes do make sense though, since they do show up from time to time in the shallow waters in the river down the road.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 4.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 7.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 5.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 3.jpg


When the young trees finally grow up, it is going to be a really nice spot. I hope the graffiti is still there by then.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 10.jpg


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 8.jpg


And off they go to the water.
It's cool that the water can be seen from there. It looks like the birds fly directly to it.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 9.jpg


You can check out Goncalomar's instagram if you want to see more of his work. I did not find the flamingos there though.
And there is another mural made by him not far from this one, but I will keep it for a separate post. The story behind it deserves it.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 6.jpg

»«
Shot with OnePlus 7 pro
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now