Finding Solace in My Maternal Grandparents' Love

Grandparents have their ways of pampering children especially if you are their favorite, I love my grandparents but I am used to one than the others and I would love to share my reasons.

pikaso_edit (3).jpeg
Source

My paternal grandparents are lovely in their own ways but one major thing I do not like about them is segregation, they show love to children according to their parents' pocket, what I mean by this statement is that they tend to love the child/Ren of any of their children that always give them money and make it glaring to others.

I remember when my father was still struggling, my paternal grandparents did not show care to us anytime we visited them for a holiday, my siblings and I is always happy to spend quality time with them if the holiday is approaching but the reverse is the case since my father does not have anything to offer them as one of their children then. My grandma would always shout and beat us for any little mistake we made.

pikaso_edit (5).jpeg
Source

This continued for some time and it became an habit, we were the ones doing the house chores while the rest of the children enjoyed themselves in the room feeling like second-class grandkids, I told my parents that I would love to spend my holidays with them and not my paternal parents anymore because it is very obvious that the love is one-sided.

I got to spend my next holiday with my maternal grandparents and the revise was the case, I was loved as if they were the ones who gave birth to me, things were so different while staying with them, the love was massive and the treat was equal, I decided to be spending my holidays with my maternal grandparents.

I developed an interest in my maternal grandmother and can share anything with her, she is so caring and has a listening ear, she will always buy things for every one of us if we are going back to our parents, my grandmother will never judge any of her children based on how rich they are, she is everything a grandchild will ever pray for.

pikaso_edit (4).jpeg
Source

My maternal grandparents remain the best to me and my parents, they are so supportive and even still give us food for our parents when things go bad, I compared them with my paternal grandparents and saw a great difference between them.

Everything became good for my father and my paternal grandparents started showing love to us as they did to other children but I never visited them till they died, they taught me a miserable lesson which made me avoid going to their place for reunion and which made me prefer going to my maternal grandparent's house.

My father always organizes reunion parties every December at my maternal grandparent's house because that is where we prefer to stay every festive period and this is always massive, though he always takes good care of his parents I know my maternal parents deserve more because they stood by him when he had nothing and made life suitable for us as their grandchildren.

Getting used to my maternal grandparents was one of the best decisions I made, I tried to balance the two sides but my paternal grandparents pushed me away with their behavior and left me with no choice but to stick to my maternal grandparents.

I cried my eyes out when I lost my maternal grandparents because I will forever miss them, they played a vital role in my life which is why I was pained when my grandmother died, she died while I was in her house for a holiday. We all prefer our maternal grandparents house for any festive season that would bring us all together be it Christmas or the Easter season.

This is my response to day 13 of the #octoberinleo of the inleo daily prompt. If you wish to join this prompt then click this link

4PYjjVwJ1UdtKm2UoLdRggqmP8si9jxVB4m1hD4g7pMat4NfvbSUmxXNmqxEYVC4StJ9asF5FzuS5bHSUPzx6eSu6XZETdnN89aCaapQo9x.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center