Charleys Creek parkrun

We were touristing again visiting a new town and parkrun. Usually I really like to run or at worst walk a new parkrun location but early in the week I stained my ankle while running probably more overuse than a twist. I tried to take it easy from running throughout the week but just ended up doing more yard work with all the extra time and energy. So the ankle actually got worst rather than better. I live and I learn, sometimes the hard way.
We were touristing again visiting a new town and parkrun. Usually I really like to run or at worst walk a new parkrun location but early in the week I stained my ankle while running probably more overuse than a twist. I tried to take it easy from running throughout the week but just ended up doing more yard work with all the extra time and energy. So the ankle actually got worst rather than better. I live and I learn, sometimes the hard way.

So last minute I contacted the event director and was able to get the time keeper volunteer job. I don't get a run stat for my collection but still get a new location stat and a useful volunteer stat, I really need to get my 50 volies before my 500th parkrun.

Charleys creek parkrun is located in Chinchilla just under a 4 hour drive west of BrisbaneĀ 

I really wanted to run seeing all the course marking on the path.
I really wanted to run seeing all the course marking on the path.

Me telling the event director and finish token volunteer that I could have been first finisher if not for my ankle. Everyone is a winner at parkrun but there is still only one first finisher LOL
Me telling the event director and finish token volunteer that I could have been first finisher if not for my ankle. Everyone is a winner at parkrun but there is still only one first finisher LOL

Keep left for this double out and back course. I am keen to get back there and run it one day.
Keep left for this double out and back course. I am keen to get back there and run it one day.

A coal train crossing Charles Creek.
A coal train crossing Charles Creek.

The creek was not that inviting for a swim but nice for a morning parkrun.
The creek was not that inviting for a swim but nice for a morning parkrun.

Photo credits for half of the photos in this post to the parkrun volunteer photographer
Photo credits for half of the photos in this post to the parkrun volunteer photographer

Time for a photo or 2 between finishers, making sure not to touch or bump the phone which I need to only press once very time someone finishes the course.
Time for a photo or 2 between finishers, making sure not to touch or bump the phone which I need to only press once very time someone finishes the course.

A nice breakfast afterwards with the parkrunners, walkers and other volunteers at the local RSL club.
A nice breakfast afterwards with the parkrunners, walkers and other volunteers at the local RSL club.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now