👑 Ras Tafari Wisdom For These Strange Times 🦠

SelassieThumb.jpg

Times are tough all over the world, and one clear result is that international wealth and power has been even more concentrated during COVID-19.

I can't help but try to look beyond the narrative the mainstream media is feeding us and try to get to the real root of the issues.

The Real Enemy

     As I watch my former home (the USA) consumed by media coverage of COVID-19 fears and protests against police brutality, as well as the whole world being somewhat destabilized, the indominable Rastafari spirit within me asks, "What is the real enemy?"

     For our family the real enemy has always been borders and governmnents. While the world media has been super-focused on a handful of issues, world immigration systems have shuttered, and will be this way for months and maybe years to come.

     My friends back in the USA are always perplexed and confused by my livity, and they love to try and draw me out, especially when dealing with politics.

     When I talk with my liberal friends that support the protests against police brutality, I like to ask them how they feel about demilitarizing the Mexican border and and granting Mexican citizens visas on arrival.

     A proposition like this causes even most of my black friends to regurgitate right-wing rhetoric about border security and the need to keep the USA "American." I realize my views are far from mainstream, but I do remember pre-COVID-19, the migrant crisis and the ICE Detention Centers being overcrowded and undersupervised.

     Just when it looked like black, white and brown were finally united in agreement that human movement, regardless of nationality or ethnicity, is not a crime, the media quickly forgets the issue and immediately focuses on issues that divide us, and I can't see that as a coincidence.

Haile Selassie Spoke Of These Times

     The above video was taken just before WWII broke out, and we can now look back on H.I.M. Haile Selassie's statement, and understand what he was talking about, and just how prophetic these words were. This message is just as relevant today as it was then.

     In his appeal to the League of Nations (precursor to the United Nations), he spoke of "world citizenship" and "international morality," issues we still are unable of approaching to this day.

     World citizenship would mean freedom of movement for all, an Emperor Haile Selassie I idea ultimately ignored by the world at large. Freedom of movement for all would mean less war and violence, something most people I know just can't agree with.

     It may take another 1,000 years before humanity ultimately accepts the knowledge and wisdom of Emperor Haile Selassie. Bridges build more peace and stability than borders, something it seems most world leaders will never learn.

     We live on a sphere together, so the idea we can create insulated microcosms called "countries" seems foolish and not in line with biology or science. No other species respects imaginary invisible lines drawn on the Earth.

     Bear in mind I am just sharing my views, I don't feel anyone else should agree with me or live their life according to my views.

     I am not saying those who live in a "country" don't have a right to isolate themselves, but create a space on Earth for all humanity to have equal access to, and only then can we see the dream Haile Selassie I spoke of.

🙏 THANKS FOR READING 🙏

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and reblog.

Dad
@JustinParke
image.png
Mom
@SreyPov
website coming soon!!
image.png
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters

WE PROUDLY SUPPORT

ReggaeJAHMLogo.png
pinmapplefinal.png

usabannercompactjustinparke.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now