Bad things happening in the garden.

When it comes to the garden we want everything to be perfect, impeccable, but we must remember that the garden is a set of plants, living beings over which we do not have absolute control, or at least it should be so, although to be honest the problem that happened yesterday was an oversight on my part and could have been avoided, but there I was with my haste and I did not have the necessary precaution.

IMG_20230416_101341.jpg

The story begins like this, yesterday I had to deliver this pot of Sedum rubrotinctum that I sold some weeks ago, for different reasons I had not been able to deliver it, the schedules with my friend Pedro did not coincide and that made difficult the delivery, yesterday I had the opportunity to deliver the pot and so I did, but in the process I forgot that I had a thorny cactus next to the pot and when I lifted the Sedum rubrotinctum the thorns of the Ferocactus got stuck in the sedum and that caused it to fall from a meter high.

IMG_20230416_100857.jpg

I have this cactus labeled as Ferocactus Emoryi Orcutt, but to be honest I think it is more like a Ferocactus latispinus, however it fell to the ground and came out of the pot.

IMG_20230416_100939.jpg

IMG_20230416_101022.jpg

IMG_20230416_101109.jpg

In December I did root pruning and as we can see it has a good root, with a good size and color, you can't see the primary roots but many secondary roots that carry nutrients to the cactus.

IMG_20230416_101238.jpg

IMG_20230416_101435.jpg

Visual inspection tells me that there is no apparent damage from the fall, I think that after all those beautiful and dangerous spines absorbed the impact, I was checking the cactus and there is no damage so far, because of the height from where it fell I thought it would be possible that the cactus burst even so I will keep it under observation because the damage could manifest later, although it doesn't worry me much since I have many of these ferocactus in the seedbeds.

IMG_20230416_101409.jpg

IMG_20230416_101314.jpg

I will take advantage that it is already out of the pot to think about transplanting it to a bigger pot and it is probable that I will make a root pruning again, the Ferocactus are incredible cactus and support very well everything that comes to them in life, drought, hits, excess of humidity, lack of nutrients, etc, for the moment as I didn't have time I decided to leave it in the place where it fell, I put the substrate on its roots to cover it a little and I left it there, it has already more than 24 hrs in that place but as I say, they support everything so it will be fine, in a couple of hours I will decide what to do.

IMG_20230416_101508.jpg

This is another ferocactus with the same size, they are supposed to be the same type but in reality I think I see different spines, most likely I need to observe them again to find their species and put the corresponding label, by the way I love these spines, their color, their size and the horrible pain they cause, they only need to touch something just a little bit and surely they are already hooked to it.

IMG_20230416_101539.jpg

They still need to grow more to reach my Ferocactus Herrerae, but they all have these incredible spines for being from the Ferocactus family and they can really cause a lot of pain, that's why they are known as devil's tongue in some areas of Mexico, but the truth is that they are beautiful desert specimens, worthy of admiration and I think they are a good addition to any garden we are working on, thanks for reading this story, see you in the next post.

IMG_20230416_101642.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center