The latest cut!

IMG_20220830_153210.jpg

Soooooo, here we go again.

When I thought I sorted out the problem with the mealybugs and one half-dead plant and all is going to be ok and fine with my plants, a new thing ruined my day when I found out the little surprise. A rotten plant.

And what can be worse than one rotten plant?

Two rotten plants!

One was the Echeveria runyonii, probably overwatered after a longer period of being dry. Well, more than a month of me not being around my plants, although I had a friend who was coming to check on them. She said that it was very hot and two weeks passed before she could come and water them. Later, when I came back from my journey, I also watered them generously. Seems it was a bit of too much love shown through the watering can...

Consequences? a completely crooked plant. I took it out of the ground because I sensed a problem.

IMG_20220906_093140.jpg

The sad thing is that this Echeveria was going to bloom. It had two long stems, and I was waiting to see the flowers. I didn't even know what colour they would be, but luckily someone published exactly the same day the post about the blooming Echeveria runyonii topsy turvy when I performed the taking the plant out of the pot show.

IMG_20220906_093123.jpg

It can be clearly seen that its stem is rotten. Still, I didn't know how bad the situation is... until I checked it a bit better.

Let's take a closer look at this terrible sight:

IMG_20220830_153238.jpg

Call me plant killer if you want (where's my plant killer badge?) but I was not very happy to see this. Maybe I was even shocked by the scene. The questions about why and how it happened were cruelly occupying my mind, but then I just found a cutter. And I made it. I chopped off everything that was bad and left the healthy part of the plant.

IMG_20220830_153121.jpg

I also trimmed off the two stalks with the buds. It was better to leave the plant without them so that healing can be the main focus of the plant. I let the freshly cut plant for about a week or so without planting it in the soil. The same I did with the babies that were growing from the bottom of the mother Echeveria. No water, no direct sunlight, no potting it until the "wounds" dry.

IMG_20220906_093205.jpg

When that week passed and I just "potted" them in the soil, I didn't water them for a few days. It was yesterday I gave them a bit of water for the first time. The big one went again to the same pot (though I am thinking now was it a good idea to pot it again there) and the babies got a glass house (a small glass jar I now like to use for the small cuttings).

IMG_20220908_120934.jpg

IMG_20220908_121021.jpg

Let's have hopes that they will recover. They should be ok if I don't mess up again something. But time will tell.

The other plant that had a similar fate was also chopped, the parts that were really bad were cut off and I got some smaller pieces of an ex-plant. The same process of letting the cuttings dry and later potting them without giving water immediately was repeated.

I am still an optimist, something will remain of them and survive!

IMG_20220830_152954.jpg

Slide2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center