She Got My Attention

IMG_20220113_150927.jpg

It was a big surprise! I really don't know how it happened, but my eye nerves had to do a big effort to bring the image of what I saw to my mind. Those were eternal moments, the brain was refusing to accept the information, but in the end, it had to. I had to accept the fact to see my fuzzy crazy plant had a suicidal attempt! But why? Why? Did I play so badly the piano so you couldn't listen to me anymore? Did I ignore you, and you didn't get enough water? Were you mad because of something? Did you want to jump from the balcony and go and live freely in the garden, by the palm trees? Why you just didn't ask me, so I could plant a stem there where you wanted your new home to be? Why, why, let me know dear fuzzy plant...

IMG_20220113_130716.jpg

IMG_20220113_201830.jpg

My WHY-s just continued there, looking at that mess what that sad happening left behind it. Soil all around, broken stems, and fallen leaves. She was silent! And still so proud that even it was probably so painful to her to be broken into pieces, she kept quiet. But, I felt she was satisfied, and content to make me sad, seeing that scene. She wanted attention, my attention, and finally, she got it. I was around, worried, and making sure all her broken parts will be collected and planted again. To give a new life to many small fuzzy ones. Baby plants, what else could we all wish for?

IMG_20220113_151010.jpg

IMG_20220113_150703.jpg

I forgave her, as, after all, she was a bit sad without me paying attention to her (despite it being very very selfish from her side to do this act of rebellion). So, I went to take a walk among the nearby gardens...with a small shovel that could fit into the backpack...with a huge plastic bag in it...and came home with some soil as I didn't have any at home. Also, the soil you can buy in the market is too good, succulents and cacti don't need good quality soil. It was almost perfect what I found, but still, I think it is a too good one, not as sandy as I wanted. But am not complaining. {A little secret: I had an assistant in that soil-finding crime, very well planned and executed breach.} So, they are planted now, the baby plants have new pots and new soil, and not to be alone, I planted three of them in each pot.

IMG_20220119_100818.jpg

IMG_20220119_100753.jpg

IMG_20220119_100728.jpg

However, there are still some doubts. What to do with those long stems which didn't break? You see, those I hold in my hand. They are too heavy and long now, the mother plant would probably need to live in a garden indeed, not in a pot, but at the moment she has to wait. What to do with them? Should I cut them and plant them apart as I did with the broken stems? I have another Echeveria pulvinata too, not this big, but getting to have long and heavy branches. The same will happen with that one, I am sure if I don't do something... Bigger, heavier pot? Cutting back the stems and planting in other pots?

IMG_20220113_150647.jpg

Back in September she looked nice, I showed her in this post. She already had some longer branches but not as now. So, any advice should I cut those long stems or wait for another jumping from the stand activity from my Ruby Blush?

image.png

mipiano_-_MP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now