Did I miss the flowers?

Frailea Pumila 2021 5.jpg

Not really...
Because she decided not to show me any!

Frailea pumila


Frailea Pumila 2021 1.jpg

This is a very tricksy little thing. Even though they do bloom like any other cactus, they do not need to open the flowers to get pollinated. They can do that inside the closed bud and grow the fruit right after.
Why waste the energy on blooming, right?

And this is what happened with my one. I saw the tiny little buds rowing and was waiting for the flower, especially that it has never bloomed before, but nope. That did not happen.

Today as I took it to take some photos I think I see tiny fruits forming.

Frailea Pumila 2021 2.jpg

Frailea Pumila 2021 3.jpg

I grew this one from seed and have a few more, but they are much smaller. What I also find pretty cool about it, is that the seeds started to sprout just after 2-3 days from sowing! All other cacti I have sown needed at least a week.
So they grow fast, they produce fruits and new seeds fast and without any help.

And why?

Well... there is always a reason for this adaptation. I read somewhere that they do not live very long. A few years max and then one day they will just die without warning. So yes - they have to make sure there is enough little babies around for the specie to survive.

Frailea Pumila 2021 6.jpg

Frailea pumila is native to Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay and Uruguay and can be often found growing among mosses and between rocks. I can handle nicely full sun which I am providing. My one seem a little dehydrated though. I think they do enjoy a bit more water than other cacti.

Here is a bonus shot to show you how small it is. It is 3 years old now and maybe 2 cm across.
The flowers are from my aloe that I was also shooting today and will show another time.

Frailea Pumila 2021 4.jpg

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha II
image.png
Notocactus mueller-melchersii
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Aylostera heliosa var. condorensis

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency