Blooming cactus - Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 4.jpg

Such a lovely little cactus and yet so terribly neglected.
By me.

Few years ago when I was just starting with those spiky friends I saw some photos of it in someone else's collection and wanted it almost straight away. Its those delicate peachy flowers that got me.
Eventually I got one and it is having a hard time with me...

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis


Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 5.jpg

Everything was fine with it until last year. In spring it bloomed with 3 flowers. The plant was healthy and was growing well.
And then it started to look worse and I didn't know why. At some point I thought it got too much water and it will just rot. Some black spot appeared on the side that I treated with cinnamon to dry it and either way it was a coincidence, nothing serious, or the cinnamon worked.
Then it got the spider mite attack (together with other cacti), but since I didn't see those little buggers I tried to look for other causes and didn't really treat the right way.

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 1.jpg

All the stains and scars you see are from last year. Now this year it still managed to bloom and the tip is growing, but damn it looks like it went to hell and back. Now on the photos I still see some mites. I took those photos few weeks ago and I already sprayed it with Neem oil. One more go in about a week and hopefully I will be able to keep the little f*** at bay.

Can you see them on the photo below?

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 3.jpg

One more flower bloomed later on. I think it growing a fruit too. I will try to sow it again. I did that last year, but all the seedlings died. I have no luck to this one at all!

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 6.jpg

I will also water them all with the Neem oil solution. It works as systemic insecticide and also deals with the potential mealybugs that like to hide in the soil and around the roots. I did that last year in spring and I noticed I didn't have such big problem. I am a bit late with that this year though.

Mediolobivia pygmaea mudanensis flower 2021 2.jpg


Look how pretty she was last year:

image.png

And two years ago when she bloomed for the first time with much paler, single flower:

image.png

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency