Bells and hidden roomies

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 4.jpg

Before cactus seasons tarts (I think I saw some buds today starting to form) I get to enjoy the pretty red bells from my Kalanchoe plats. Two of them are in bloom now. Both red.

This one is not my favourite, though I do enjoy the flowers. It grows in a very messy manner and I just don't know if I should trim it every year, or simply get fresh cuttings and plant them all over. So it grows until I get pissed off and chop it :p
That happened last year. The old plant went to the bin as the stems are just long and naked and I planted a bunch of little, fresh cuttings. That is what is in bloom now.

Kalanchoe manginii


Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 1.jpg

Currently it is called Bryophyllum manginii, though I saw both names are being used.
It is a perennial plant especially when grown in a garden and can grow to a large bushy mess.

As a proper succulent it doesn't need much care. Just some water from time to time in the summer. Crappy sandy soil is what they like, though I noticed it will grow almost in anything.

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 2.jpg

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 3.jpg

The small leaves turn nice and red when stressed, which is in winter when it gets colder or in summer when exposed to a full sun.

And they can handle full sun well! One of the few plants I can leave in more open space in the summer and I know it will survive.

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 6.jpgKalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 7.jpg

Oh hold on!
What is that?

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 5.jpg

Yep... we have some unwanted guests.
Those black aphids pop now and then and on those dark flower stems they are not as visible. I did not see them until I got really close to take some shots.
Little suckers!

I already spayed it with Neem oil and hope it will be enough to get rid of them. Will repeat in a few days.

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 aphids 1.jpg

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 aphids 2.jpg

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 8.jpg

Kalanchoe manginii flowers 2022 9.jpg

I had an observer while shooting :p

seagul roof.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.



separator echeveria.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now