Fill-in diaries for my girls (11 & 10 yrs)

For the dutch blog post click here

My two girls (11 and 10 years old now) are reaching puberty and that's no piece of cake. Not a child anymore and not yet a youngster, a life phase in between. So this mom looked out for some tools that could be helpful.

A customized fill-in diary

We have experience using 'Slaapklets', a dutch fill-in diary for kids. It helps your kid to order its thoughts, become aware of emotions and as a result not get so lost within itself. Lovely and versatile as it may be, it is not customized.

I have all the materials needed to fabric such a booklet and made one for myself when I switched from a bullet journal to a customized journal/planner.

The main question is this: am I going to use the computer or go totally old school? Nostalgia made me choose the latter. 🙂

When I look once more at all those beautiful fill-in diaries for kids on the market, the plan in my head is taking shape.

Time to start creating

I use plain white A4 paper, black fineliner, washi tape, little emoji stickers, a big geo triangle, post-its, a laminator, a cutting machine, (clear) stamps, an atoma puncher and atoma-like rings.

img_0.28215218639004047.jpg

I divide the A4 into two, because I aim for an A5 booklet.

The top of each page is the same:

  • space for the date
  • 'my top 3 of today'
  • 'this was 💩 today'
  • 'emoji of the day', with a blank one at the end of the row

On the bottom left I work with post-its, to create a total of 14 different pages.
On the bottom right there's room for a doodle.

Here's an example of two different pages:

img_0.9980075571660951.jpg

You can find all variations (in dutch) here

The girls will get their fill-in diaries at New Year. I'm curious to find out of they like it and make use of it.
Anyhow, creating was great fun. 🙂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center