Travel with LightCaptured - Iceland Highlights, with 40 photos

Not long ago I spent some quality time with my dear friends who also love to travel and check out new beautiful places. We shared memories and info about different European destinations and it came out they are planning to go to Iceland.

They asked me for advices on what could be seen and experienced in a week or less. So I decided to put all that plus some tips and some DOs and DONTs into this post so it may be useful or enjoyable by other travelers too. By the way, if you've been to Iceland and want to share something interesting, don't hesitate and drop a comment below.

DDH_8874.jpg

First of all, looking at the map of Iceland, one may be tempted to do a round trip using Road #1.
I've done this in eight days and that's something I definitely do NOT recommend. I always felt rushed, sometimes like a grasshopper jumping from this to that landmark. I think it's much better to properly enjoy one spot than scratch three. Or that's just me getting older? :D Anyway, the ring road is about 2400 km long, so if you like driving 300-400 km a day then.... And sleeping at different places each night... and if you're a good planner... Too many "ifs", right?

So, long story short, for one week there, I'd focus on Southern Iceland only.

First thing first, there are two ways to go to Iceland, of course excluding by swimming, LOL.
I met and spoke to a person who went there with his own car by ferry but that takes a few days and isn't cheap at all.

So the obvious option left here is by plane.

DDH_8349.jpg

Don't rent a big car, or 4WD. On Road #1 there isn't any need of such one.
One of our mistakes was to rent 4WD, as initially we had plans to use one of the "F" roads. That appeared too risky and I am glad we didn't do it as the most interesting spots are along the Road #1. Actually, every time you see the "P" blue road sign for Parking, next to it there is something amazing to see. Yup, that's the magic of Iceland!

When planning the trip we pre-booked the cheapest 4WD car we could find, it wasn't perfect, it wasn't very clean either, it's mileage was closing the 400,000 km mark and initially inside it smelled like it had been used as a transport vehicle for sheep! :)))

DDH_8358.jpg

Hotels are expensive. Hostels offer affordable rooms with shared bathrooms and the quality of the hostels and guest houses is actually very good. If you like camping that is a great option too, especially for the summers.

You won't need any cash. Cards work everywhere, even at the smallest and the most distant places.

Assuming that would be the first visit, definitely go there during the summer. Pleasantly warm days and fresh, sometimes cold nights. So DO bring some warm clothes as well.

DDH_8412.jpg

If it accidently gets too hot, there are cool caves to visit.

DDH_8532.jpg

I will never forget the few meeting I had with the local fauna.

All the animals I met were very curious and not afraid of us at all.

DDH_8672.jpg

For people who love waterfalls, Iceland has plenty of them.

DDH_8600.jpg

DDH_8712.jpg

Waterfall plus sun light, equals to a thick rainbow.

DDH_8773.jpg

So do wait in line to get on top of this rock and someone takes a ridiculous photo of you! :)

DDH_8789.jpg

Do have patience, hat, hiking shoes and a bottle of water when visiting the plane crash site.

DDH_8812.jpg

It takes between 40 minutes up to an hour walking in one direction.

DDH_8834.jpg

As the town of Vic is nearby, I'd highly recommend going to the cape with its beautiful lighthouse.

DDH_8913.jpg

In the late afternoon, close to the sunset, the views are breathtaking and it is really worth it to wait for the end of the day there.

DDH_8932.jpg

The famous cute puffins nest and fish there too, so prepare to be melted off by their cuteness! :)

DDH_9008.jpg

Along Road #1 you could also find this endless volcanic stones Zen garden.

DDH_9243.jpg

Always glaciers in the background. Mighty!

DDH_9245.jpg

Don't miss the glacier lake Jokursarlon.

DDH_9314.jpg

DDH_9322.jpg

And of course, the Diamond Beach next to it.

DDH_9424.jpg

And that would be the far Eastern point I'd recommend to go if you have less than a week.

DDH_9427.jpg

DDH_9429.jpg

Well, it just feels divine to pass under the falling waters of Seljalandsfoss.

DDH_8631.jpg

DDH_8653.jpg

Those farms, sheltered by the huge volcanic mountains.

DDH_8715.jpg

True, Iceland is... green :)

DDH_8716.jpg

The architecture there is typical and the churches are so beautiful.

DDH_8731.jpg

Of course, don't forget to take photos of yourselves.

DDH_8764.jpg

DDH_8816.jpg

DDH_8817.jpg

DDH_8826.jpg

These are scenes from a sci-fi movie, don't you think?

DDH_8873.jpg

DDH_8914.jpg

Be very careful. Taking photo like that one below may seem safe but look at the next photo to see how high this shore is!!!

DDH_8958.jpg

DDH_8980.jpg

The Black Beach at the other side of Vic is also a must-see.

DDH_9195.jpg

The endless fields of moss covered volcanic rocks and stones...

DDH_9254.jpg

That glacier lake I mentioned, is really huge and together with the Diamond Beach it would take about a day to properly visit and enjoy.

DDH_9308.jpg

DDH_9389.jpg

Well, take a diamond, they are for free there! :)

DDH_9420.jpg

So, here in this post today you will NOT see photos from two places that a worth of at least one day each.

  • The Blue Lagoon. To be able to dip in its waters there you'll have to preorder as the tickets are limited and usually the place is sold out. I'd buy a few months in advance next time I plan a trip in Iceland.

  • The capital city. It is full of arts and offers a lot to see, experience, taste and enjoy. Still, if you want to check it out, I have already posted a couple of travel stories about it.

I hope this helped, in case of further questions, I'd be more than happy to answer.

You are kindly invited and more than welcome to join "The Photographic Society" Community on HIVE here: @hive-142821, where photographers and enthusiasts share not only their works but also discuss concepts and techniques, and also some hot topics and news about our favorite art.

Thank you for your time and support, please check out below few other ways to aid and encourage me in my endeavors and stay in touch!

Some of my favorite photographs and digital art, along with some of my recent visuals, all in the highest resolution and quality, are all available for licensing inside my searchable portfolio at Alamy: https://www.alamy.com/portfolio/112427.html

Are you a fan of NFTs? Check out my portfolio while some of my best photographs and digital art are still on sale: https://opensea.io/LightCaptured

Check out some of my visuals available in high resolution, you could get a license here for publicly utilizing my works, all approved by the quality review team of Adobe, Inc.: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured

Copyright: LightCaptured
All the photographs, digital art and text in my posts, unless specified otherwise, are my own property and created by me.
If you wish to use any of my works, please drop me a line!

I wish you one great day; stay safe, stay strong and let your muse be always on your shoulder!

The divider I use in my posts I have created in Adobe Express.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center