Strange Hopper

I found this interesting insect when I observed a plant during one of my recent photo walks. at first, I didn't notice its existence on the plant, because my eyes were locked on the other insect, which I might post on another day. But then on the second glance, I notice this weird looking insect blends so nicely and almost perfectly with the color of the plant leaves.

It is apparently one of the leaf hoppers, or specifically the Cicadella viridis, the green leafhopper, is a species belonging to the subfamily Cicadellinae of the family Cicadellidae.. it looks like a cicada, but also at the same time resembles a frog.

The green body blended so nicely with the surrounding leaf, but the yellow color on its eyes and on its bad gave way to its camouflage a little bit. overall it is such a lovely insect, and when I photograph it, it was quite tame and calm, not moved much even when I tried to twist the leaf it was resting on.

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

Photo StyleMacro PhotographyAccesoryMeike Extention Tube + 50 mm Canon Lens + adapter
LocationBali, IndonesiaLightingExternal Flash
GearOlympus Omd Em5 Mark iiDiffuserCekrek Diffuser


I am a Balinese man, a father of a toddler son, working in the hospitality industry, who has recently found a passion for macro photography. I want to share the photos that I've taken here on Hive. I appreciate any comments or feedback you leave on my posts and kindly invite you to be part of my journey in this vast Hive Ocean. Thank you very much
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center