Can you handle the Action in Bitters?

Alcohol has become a staple ever since my first taste of the beautiful elixir some 9/almost ten years ago. It came into my life at a convenient time and has been a staple ever since. My first encounter with the substance was through beer but despite being a beer man, my favourite version is those that pack a heavier punch than lagers.

My alcohol journey took me from Beer, through the Islands of Whiskey until I arrived at these economical but very potent locally made beverages called Bitters. I don't know if other countries also have these herb tasting drinks that separates the boys from the men, but around here, they stand at the peak of the drinking hierarchy.

image.png

Action bitters are one of the most popular Bitters around and stands out as my favourite of the lot. True to its Bitters nature; it is rough around the edges, to put it mildly, and people generally have polar reactions to it because you either hate it or like it.

Trust me when I say bitters are no joke, and they weren't made for everyone. The title "Bitters" actually depicts the intentional nasty flavour on reaching the tongue and underlying roughness it goes down the throat with. Other than the taste, Action Bitters also has a staggering 40% alcohol concentration, putting it on per with any vodka or blended whiskey you'd you can find. As I said, it is no joke but that's okay because people who drink it are ready for the challenge.

The rich blend of herbal extracts fused with Brandy flavour adds to the thrill of this intriguing and surprisingly addictive substance. People love Action bitters for many reasons; it is cheap, it packs a neat punch, it leaves a sweet after taste and some have even claimed it improves sexual performance because of the herbal extract(hello @trumpman) but I think that's just placebo effect.

It is one drink that has stuck with me for the past 5-6 years and I recommend for anyone with a knack for something strong. So, are you a man of action?



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center