Here Are the Words You Need to Hear

Here are the words you need to hear

You've always been an earth girl, my love.
You'd sleep with your window open and hear the ocean
Wake in the middle of the night and look at the stars.
Even when you first started your moon time you knew to bleed on the dirt
Squatted in malasana, hips rocking, watching the ants
You'd trail your hand across the plants
Pluck parsley, intuitively feeding yourself with what you needed
Chew fennel seeds and cook potatoes on the fire with garlic and rosemary
You always identified with the witch, the loners on the outskirt -

the hut in the forest with the hanging bouquets
the jars of herbs and honey

it's okay to step away now, back into the forest
you've had your time, earning your keep, the roof over your head
you tried a while to live in that world
still, you felt the loner. It was never really you, was it?
You missed the girl that slept with the window open
That walked on the dirt barefoot and swam naked in the ocean

This now is the time of your becoming
Or maybe it's just a journey back - an allowing yourself to be
Again the girl who cooks and reads and writes poetry
Who listens to the swell of the earth & the mushrooms singing
Plants seeds in the ground to share with those who need it
Thyme and calendula, melissa and yarrow

The hut in the forest with the hanging bouquets
the jars of herbs and honey

image.png

This post was in response to @trucklife-family's question for the Abundance Tribe's QOTW. It asked to write about the words you need to hear, and to let them flow to manifest what you need. I tried not to think about it too much as I wrote, connecting to that part of me that is wholly me and not what others want me to be. As I enter into my crone years in the weeks after my fiftieth birthday, I am excitedly leaving the expectations of my teaching career behind, and the burden of living in a society that no longer serves me. I think of how my true self, the girl that has always been there, has been dressed in other robes for some time and is now shedding them to become what I was always going to be. Dirty feet and a house full of herbs and honey, and sharing my abundance with others - that sounds like a good life to me, and I don't need much more. I can serve the world better in this small way.

With Love,

image.png



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center