But Why Missouri?

Loss of Freedom

As some of you know, we recently moved to Missouri from Michigan as political refugees from Whitmer. Over time, we started to notice things getting worse and worse in our home state. One bedroom apartments with ten people living in them, tax rates and costs of living going through the roof, and more and more regulations. It was time to go.

Missouri - Show me

After getting out here, I really started looking into how different the laws are, and I'm telling you it's amazing! First, our property taxes on eight and a half acres are only eighty six dollars a year, in Michigan we were paying almost $2k a year for a city lot, and gas is about forty cents less a gallon than it was in Michigan, but most importantly, things are just done differently here...

Examples...

In Michigan, if you are not wearing your seat belt, you can get pulled over, but out here, they can't pull you over for just a seat belt, it has to be for something else first. Now, a seat belt might not be a big deal, but what about self-defense? In Michigan, if you have to defend yourself, you're pretty much guaranteed to go to jail, at least for a while. In Missouri, the police assume that if someone is at your house, then you are in the right. I read about a guy shooting a home intruder last week, and they never arrested him! That blew my mind!

Show me state...

There is a reason Missouri is called the show me state. People out here don't want to hear a person talk. They want to see what a person does. In Michigan, it seems like all people do is talk but never follow through. For someone like me, it's refreshing. I like to work, and that is respected here. My neighbor even said I'm an honorary hillbilly! Some would take that as an offense, but to me, coming from this guy, it's a huge compliment!

My new home...

I was talking to a friend in Michigan a few weeks ago, and he made the comment that if I ever had to come back, we could stay with him. I explained to him that there was no way in hell I was ever coming back to Michigan. Missouri is my home now, and there's no reason to ever leave. I would rather be homeless here if it came to it than go back to the police state that Michigan is becoming...

I like being an honorary hillbilly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments