My tips on improving your performance as a Hive blogger or in any career

After three years of input at writing and publishing creative content on Hive blockchain, I have worked out a few key tips to aid in the process and make it a success. Whatever we do in life, it’s often about how we apply ourselves as to whether we win at it. Also whatever path we take in life, it works out to be the tool that brings out our best and worst sides, thus enabling us to refine ourselves as a person, regardless of the path chosen. Here are my lessons learned so far as a Hive blogger:

Hive-Blockchain.jpg

Perseverance
Once you make a decision to tap in to the Hive social media fount of fortune, then keep at it for at least a year or two before you really see results. Of course if you invest in lots of Hive tokens early on and power up a good amount, you can improve your returns via upvotes from readers. However, you also need to become a regular content creator and if you have the time, also do lots of curating or upvoting of other posts that you like. Read content and comment regularly so that you make good connections. But also be sure to refine your output and – if nothing else – publish daily if you can.

That was my secret, I published almost daily for some years. In this way I built up a solid portfolio as well as some reputation as a content creator. Admittedly I would occasionally cut back to a post every second day for a few months if I needed to slow down. But then I would pick up the pace once more. I kept this up for three years and got into a routine and a rhythm of writing and publishing. Even though the returns were small to begin with, the effort to power up more and more Hive, plus increasing my rank, all helped my capacity to attract bigger upvotes.

By not selling any Hive, but simply “hodling” and powering up, I was able to play the long game and keep the goal in mind, which is a long term investment for some years. The first couple of years was hard work, getting into the habit of writing daily if possible. And it was actually a serious effort, like getting fit. Then I found I had to take a break of about two months just recently, during my winter here in the southern hemisphere. But after that break, I was able to return to the writing desk and I found that my output had doubled. It was as if the occasional holiday actually improved my capacity to create further content on returning.

Diversify and try reading outside your niche
I made the effort to write on numerous of my interests. Write what you like and whatever you wish. That also helps the flow. But be willing to think outside of your box by reading diverse blog posts from various communities and departments of life. I found that some posts generate more upvotes than others, so I diversify according to my multiple tastes. You may find that you learn from the other communities about other interesting fields of life. And you meet diverse people which is healthy. A wider social network allows opportunity to learn and evolve.

Be willing to expand your field of interests or range from one to another on occasion. I know there are die-hard gamers or economists or traders or developers, but the good thing about Hive is that it attracts people from all walks of life and there is always a diverse set of interests to curate. Also at different times in your life you may find it easier to shift from one genre to another as your interests diversify. I spent a lot of time posting in the LEO community when I was writing about cryptocurrency TA or blockchain technology. However, I now write about politics, philosophy, consciousness, outdoor hiking and NFT artworks.

Learn from setbacks
Be willing to ride out the bear market without much profit. Be willing to write numerous blog posts that don’t pull in many upvotes to begin with. Give it time to build up your style, niche portfolio and reputation, as well as your powered up stack of Hive tokens. That’s how it worked for me. I saw the Hive price just drop and drop for many moths over the bear market cycle of 2018/9 and my wallet value dropped to a really low point of $0.10 per Hive token at one point. However, we bottomed out of course and have since climbed back up significantly. All the while I also tried my hand at day trading and swing trading into BTC. Sometimes I lost out due to the bear market downtrend but I persevered and learned from those little learning curves.

Now with experience and by starting small, I made relatively small mistakes in trading but learned big lessons regarding investing skills and trading techniques. I never gave up, although I might go through spurts of more or less trading over the years. I come back to it with renewed insights and more experience. I have found that over the past four years, since starting out as a trader and crypto enthusiast, I have improved my ability to make profitable trades and have acquired a skill in trading that is improving over time and with effort. So learn from the mistakes and keep at it. It doesn’t always work out immediately but trading and investing, like blogging, has massive potential as you improve along the way.

Be bold in vision but careful in planning
It pays to remember that the profit potential is massive in crypto so your Hive tokens are going to grow in value to heights unexpected. And certainly you will make much more profit than in any traditional market, which allows you to think big and have a vast vision for yourself as your portfolio and powerup of Hive grows. At the same time you want to also be aware of the details when it comes to trading and investing. That’s where TA helps. You will gain a lot by timing your entries and exits when trading any asset. These details are worth pursuing and cultivating in your strategy.

Cryptocurrency trading and investing, as well as blogging on the Hive blockchain is already a big learning curve as well as a leap ahead from the old legacy platforms, so already it requires a brain willing to pay attention to the details and not be daunted by the strange information at first, or put off if you don’t understand it all at first. Be willing to remember the goal of your big vision and give it time and effort. I have only gained, the more time I spend acquiring the skill set and knowledge base to make Hive blogging and crypto trading work for me.

Never risk what you can’t afford to lose
This may be a popular bit of wisdom that we hear a lot in cryptocurrency trading. Don’t invest more than you can wait a long time for because you may see occasional dips in the value of your investment and you don’t want to sell at a loss. Also you want to take profit as near the top as possible so don’t sell too soon. Not that anyone knows where to the top is.

Now this principle also applies to other valuable assets in your life like your time and your health. Don’t invest time that you also need for your family or other responsibilities. You can’t afford to lose friends and alienate people by becoming obsessed or overly absorbed in your trading, gaming, coding or blogging. Also your health is most important. If you are taking mental strain or the pressure is too much, them relax a bit and take some time out from blogging or trading. Never risk your mental or physical health due to over work or stress. And cherish your personal relationships as much as your crypto or your money in general.

Avoid clashes of personality or opinion
To conclude, there may be numerous tips from individual Hive bloggers and crypto traders. We al have our own style and learning curve. Still we can learn from anyone in this game, especially those with experience to share. One more tip I personally learned is to avoid alienating people by arguing over points to the degree that it becomes bad. You can decide where to draw the line, but I don’t like becoming offensive or creating clashes. I will rather keep the mood positive and optimistic on this social media site overall. We don’t need revenge wars and downvotes out of envy, spite or greed. Let’s keep Hive respectful and civilized, despite allowing freedom of speech. It’s a sign of maturity and will encourage newcomers.

Let me know in the comments what insights you may have had on your Hive journey as a blogger and/or trader. I’m always keen to learn from others.

(image www.coinfomania.com)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center