This content got low rating by people.

Abundance.Tribe's Biweekly Question: How Do You Keep Yourself Grounded?

The year 2020 started just like every other year until COVID-19 spread and the government took measures to curtail it by imposing a lockdown law, and the use of hand sanitizer, facemask, and maintaining social distancing. It was a tough year for everyone as individuals picked up new hobbies, learned unfamiliar habits, just anything to keep their mood alive through the season. Though, we never saw anyone die of COVID-19 here in Nigeria, the measures to stop the spread was enforced on its citizens also. We walked around with our facemask, and washed our hands at any available tap with hand sanitizer perfectly positioned next to the buckets.

It was easy for me to cope through the lockdown because I was the indoor type even before the COVID-19 was discovered. So, all I did was to do what I have always done, except for the new skills I learnt with the advantages of not going out for work. The first way I kept myself grounded was using social media, if there's ever any time I have used the social media most, it's definitely 2020. All I needed was data and a charged battery with a few friends online who made the day fun. The more I stayed awake laughing at some chat, the easier I forgot about the troubles the world was passing through. Sometimes I thank the men who invented the mobile phone, internet, and social media. They all have some merits that have saved humanity from depression, oh, if only you don't allow the news headlines to occupy most of your thinking.

img_0.4467906492844276.jpg

Photo source

The second way I kept myself grounded was, uhm, let me think, oh yeah now I remember and it's the most fun part of 2020. I got introduced to hive which means I not only socialized but earned from writing. That was a double benefit of using the social platform and it's a perfect gift for the indoor type like me. August last year I joined Hive. During the lockdown, I was able to sit and write out my thoughts on things I couldn't air or probably was restricted from saying. I started to write stories and articles that built up my penmanship/writing skills and I learned to sit next to that computer which had been kind of useless to me some years ago. I was able to use the period to perfect myself, maybe I meant practice perfection in writing and this made me forget we were under some volcanic period.

Finally, the use of facemask, hand sanitizer, and social distancing. I'm a patriotic citizen, so I believe after analyzing my love for my country. I desire my safety as well as that of other citizens. And Even though no one truly saw anyone bedridden with the symptoms here in Nigeria aside from the normal cough, we still needed to follow the lay down measures. I walked around with my face mask and washed my hands when necessary. I was careful to mingle in crowded places and I visited just a few places during that period. Though the lockdown has been lifted, at some point I still maintain those measures.

In all, the love families shared during the lockdown period was more to help an individual not to be burdened with the tragic effect of the lockdown.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments