Wild Boars, Red Fox and Roe Deer Captured on Trail Cam at Lower Scratchpost


I returned to the lower scratchpost to check and see how the trail camera was doing after I had moved it to a different tree. Because of the camera’s narrow field of view, I moved it to a more distant tree but it was still too close.

In order to have an unobstructed view of the scratchpost, while at the same time move the camera further yet, I had to use a sloped tree. This is the first footage from the trail cam since its installation on the sloped tree. I think it’s by far the best location of all I’ve tried so far.

The trail camera footage is at the end of the video. It includes repeat visits by a lone wild boar whom I call Hubert. He’s been targeted by licensed hunters for extermination several times, but somehow manages to dodge them. The hunters always come as a group with multiple dogs trained to sniff out wild boars, still, Hubert is still alive and well. Unfortunately, I fear they will get him sooner or later. He’s such a nice and healthy boar. I will miss him, but I don’t want to get ahead of myself. He’s succeeded in avoiding getting killed this far, so maybe he’ll stick around a bit longer.

Other than Hubert, the trail cam also captured a family of razorback wild boars (Sus scrofa), a repeat passing by a red fox (Vulpes vulpes) and a roe deer (Capreolus capreolus) mother with her youngling. There is even a glimpse of a weasel of sorts. Maybe an ermine in winter fur? Too quick to identify. The matriarch of the boar family limps on her front left leg – not sure how she got injured.

I decided to make this video more about the animal footage and less about me talking.

The background music is my own guitar solo. It’s an instrumental improvisation to a simple backing track. It was performed and recorded live. There is no studio recording of this musical piece.

00:00 Disclaimer
00:10 Walk through forest toward lower scratchpost
00:35 Sloped tree
01:00 Juvenile roe deer trail cam video
01:10 Roe deer mama with her juvenile offspring
01:23 Hubert the lone boar
02:19 Red fox and weasel on trail camera
02:30 Return of razorback Hubert
03:08 Wild boar family at scratchpost
05:18 Red fox in the snow
05:32 Red fox revisits after snowmelt
05:43 Hubert is back again with major itch

Keep rocking :o)

Mark
https://www.nophoneman.com/


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now