Slugs, Fire Salamander and Dor Beetle Drawn Out by Early Spring Rain


Even though Spring is already in full spring according to the calendar, the weather is still more reminiscent of winter. On a slightly warmer night, we however got some rain and as I went for a walk through the woods after, I saw a whole manner of creepy crawlies whom I haven’t seen for months.

Different types of slugs, including a large Black Slug (Arion ater), an earth-boring dung beetle known as Dor (Geotrupes stercorarius), as well as a Fire Salamander (Salamandra salamandra) all cam out at the same time. More about Fire Salamanders in this video:

I did some macro photography for this video, providing closeups of the animals presented.

I hope the video was helpful and educational for you, but please bear in mind that I’m not an expert and may be wrong about anything I say. Always do your own research and if you need an expert advice, do consult an actual expert. Please review my disclaimers at https://www.nophoneman.com/wild-edibles-disclaimer/ and https://www.nophoneman.com/medical-disclaimer/.

00:00 Disclaimer
00:11 Fat Spanish slugs
00:25 Skinny pale slug
00:35 Black slug
00:45 Fire salamander wandering about the forest floor
02:19 Poison glands on Fire salamander
02:51 Fire salamander crawling up a pine tree
03:37 Dor dung beetle
03:51 Black slug unveils his tentacles
04:20 Movement of large Black slug in 2.5x speed in close-up

Keep rocking :o)

Mark
https://www.nophoneman.com/


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now