Artpark's sketchtember challenge! week 1!

And so I am back XD I honestly wasn't planning on posting again so soon but my day got disrupted and I have way too many art challenges I am trying to fill. I'm at the point where I am definitely drawing consistently, but I'm not writing about it cuz... well... that also takes a bit of time. Not as much time as drawing, of course, but it does kill a lot of brain cells just to write a blog.
Going back to the art park challenge UwU for the first week, the goal was to redraw an old drawing. I really didn't have a lot of drawings I wanted to recreate but then I saw my unfinished folder, and heck I was sure I wanted to at least do one of them in traditional art.
That's why I chose this one:


Looking at them side by side... I don't really know if there's that much improvement. All I know is taht the anatomy for both drawings broke my brain a little cuz it was harder to work on traditional than on digital, but the fact that I kept working on the wrong layer in digital was also a pain.


Here's the original digital drawing from way back 2022

I was still using paint tool sai 2 for this one and I remember spending 2 days on this, but in all honesty, the timelapse recording only tracked 4 hours of working time on this canvas.


Then this is my redraw from this year XD it's a lot shinier than the original, that's for sure. And it scared me more XD cuz traditional art really gets to me more than digital art.
This took me a good 5 hours cuz I had so much redding and shading to do on this one that it really just frustrated me to no end.


I wasn't even sure how to approach the redraw so I ended up drawing it twice. This was the first one that I did while having coffee with my coworker.
But I was pretty unhappy with this version so I trashed it and tried to do it again.


and the remake was actually a lot better than the first one. That as for sure. My only concern was that this drawing seriously used up all my red pens because each pen has a different shade of red and I appreciated that color difference quite a bit cuz it meant I didn't need to go to the darkest shade so soon. I could keep building layers while praying my paper wouldn't tear or something.


I definitely didn't take enough photos of the progression on this one though. But at least I got a few shots and that's all I could manage for the week. hopefully tomorrow, I can work on 2 drawings again cuz I need to catch up on the writing too.
Thank you for reading this far! I'll see you in my next blog! Later laters!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments