Making Spicy Salad

The recipe that I made today is actually adapted from the Soltam or Soltum recipe, a salad from Thailand consisting of pieces of shrimp, crab, raw papaya, vermicelli and tomatoes then doused with typical Thai spices so that the resulting taste is spicy, sour and sweet at the same time to form a harmony of flavors that match the characteristics of the dish. I wanted to try the typical Thai spices but after I searched the internet I felt this dish was too spicy for me, besides that until now I can't accept raw seafood or half-cooked meat. All seafood must be cooked for me. Therefore, I am currently making this recipe which I adjust to my own taste from ingredients that I take directly from my garden so it is very fresh.



And to make this recipe I will prepare the following ingredients:


Spicy salad seasoning ingredients:

1. Red chili (in this recipe I use 2 large red chilies)
2. Tamarind I use only 2 tamarind seeds so it is not too sour
3. Kasturi lime (if there is no Kasturi lime you can use lime or lemon)

4. Salt (I use ½ tablespoon of salt but it all depends on the amount of ingredients to be used)

5. Palm sugar. For palm sugar I use just enough that I adjust to my taste, if when it is finished the seasoning is too spicy then we can add more palm sugar to correct the taste.)

6. 100 grams of water

7. Chili powder (I only use a little chili powder because I am very afraid of spicy and my salad I can't eat)



The ingredients for the salad are:


1. Carrots, (optional can be replaced with other ingredients, but in this recipe I use 50 grams of carrots)

2. Winged bean (optional and can be replaced with other ingredients or removed and I use this Winged bean because this vegetable is very delicious when consumed raw and I also picked this winged bean directly from my own yard.)

3. Kedondong (optional and can be replaced with other ingredients, but because I picked this kedondong directly from my yard so I need to use it, and because it tastes sour so use it in moderation.)

4.Raw papaya (raw papaya is an ingredient that is always present in the original recipe in Thailand but I still don't dare to consume this raw papaya so I only take ¼ of the papaya which is already small)



How to make the salad dressing is:

1. Red chili, brown sugar, salt are ground until smooth then add tamarind.

2. When I grind the spices, I cook ½ glass of water that I have mentioned in the recipe until it boils

3. After boiling, I mix the water into the spices that I have ground

4. Then after that I mix 3 Kasturi oranges then stir until smooth and the salad dressing is ready then put it aside first. And you need to know that the taste of Kasturi oranges is not as sour as lime or lemon, but compared to the two oranges above, the aroma of Kasturi oranges is much stronger and more fragrant.

5. After the spices are ready, I then grated the carrots that I had previously washed clean and soaked in salt water

6. After the carrots, I cut the winged beans into small pieces

7. And the next ingredient is the Kedondong fruit

8. Then the last one is the papaya fruit that I had previously peeled and cleaned the seeds and washed it thoroughly and didn't forget to coat it with salt to remove the sap and washed it again,

9. After all the ingredients were grated, I poured the salad seasoning on it and sprinkled a little chili powder on top

10. And my version of Soltam is finished.



The conclusion of all this exceeded my expectations because it turned out to be very delicious. The fresh ingredients that I used also supported it. And the taste that I wanted to create was successful with a sour taste that was not too sour with a spiciness that I adjusted to my tongue and a little sweet and savory. Waooo I even finished this dish myself. Even the raw papaya turned out to be very delicious and the other ingredients were also very crunchy. This is very cool and I really like it, it turns out that it is that delicious, you should try it with your recipe too. I'm waiting and greetings from Maytom, Indonesia

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center