Tasty Plantain Roll And Sauce...

Hello everyone! Welcome to my blog and happy Sunday to you all.

Today, I made a simple vegan snack and it's definitely a good one for those who love healthy snacks. I don't know the exact name for this recipe so let's just say plantain roll. It's quite similar to fish roll, sausage roll, and others, but I used plantains as my filling.

This snack is delicious, and you can tell from the recipes.

Plantain is a sweet food, and anything it touches automatically becomes sweet, so imagine what these snacks taste like with plantain as filling.

Ingredients.

Flour- 500g
Plantain- 700g
Onions- 10g
Carrot- 20g
Spring onions- 3 pieces
Sugar- 3 tablespoons
Salt- 1 teaspoon
Baking powder- 1 teaspoon
Tomato paste- 1 sachet
Groundnut oil- 500 ml

Preparation.

I started by making my dough first, and that seems like the biggest task in the whole preparation.

I got a clean bowl and turned my flour into it.

I added 1 teaspoons of baking powder and just a little quantity of water.

I mixed them together with my hands until the flour, baking powder, and water mixed properly.

What I needed was a dough, so I added water continuously while mixing, and immediately it started forming. I switched to kneading.

I added two teaspoons of groundnut oil and continued kneading.

My sugar came last, and I just kneaded until I ended up with a perfect dough.

I set the dough aside and went on to make the filling, which is quite simple.

I cleaned all the ingredients first and my grater as well.

I removed the back of the plantain and grated it.

Plantain

I repeated the process for the carrots and onions as well.

Carrot

Onions

I chopped the spring onions.

Springonion

I added all the processed ingredients in a bowl and mixed them together.

I added half a teaspoon of salt to the filling and just mixed until the ingredients blended in very well.

SaltSpring onion

I have my filling and dough ready, so let's make the snacks.

I cut a small piece of dough and flattened it on board with my rolling pin.

I cut the flat dough into the size I wanted.

I put some of the filling at the tip of the flat dough and rolled it up.

I repeated the process until I exhausted both the dough and filling.

Sprinkle some flour on the dough so they don't stick together

I turned my groundnut oil into a clean pan.

I heated the oil and gently placed the plantains roll in the pan to fry.

I didn't overfill the pan, and it must be fried on low heat.

I tossed the plantain roll around several times so that every part of it could be properly fried.

When it was ready, I removed the fried plantains from the hot oil.

I repeated the process for all the plantains roll, and the outcome was fantastic.

Are we done?

No, because we need a simple sauce for this snack.

You can use ketchup, peanut butter, and even honey, but I made a simple tomato sauce.

I added a little quantity of groundnut oil to my pan and allowed it to heat up.

I added some sliced onions, and while it was frying, I mixed my tomato paste in water.

Just a small quantity to maintain the thickness of the paste.

I turned the paste into the hot oil and allowed it to fry as well.

I added half a teaspoon of salt and stirred properly.
I allowed the paste to fry very well, and that's it.

The snacks are not just delicious but healthy as well. It gives you everything needed in a food, so tell how you won't fall in love with this vegan recipe.

Let me know what you think about this delicious recipe in the comment section, let's share this week love.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center