This super naturally sweet foodie experiment comes with a warning!!!

Greeting to everyone out there being #Vegan for the #Animals, #plantbased for your #body, #mind and #soul and aware for the #earth.

I hope that you are well, healthy and happy where ever you are and what ever you are doing.

I needed to create something sweet for my sweet tooth for breakfast, but with a super duper hit of nutritional goodies, so would like to introduce you to my completely vegan, plantbased Sweet Potato, Cauliflower, Banana, Orange, Cinnamon and Chocolate pie. 😁😁😁😁😁

SPP19.png

So although this seed grew in my head, I did a search on Youtube and found an Aussie guy by the name of OnePotChefshow https://www.youtube.com/c/OnePotChefShow/featured that made a version of this, but I made it into my own by sugar freeing, veganising and packing it with a powerful punch of other super duper foods.

Now all you Americans out there that eat pumpkin pie and sweet potato pie all the time, I'm sure that this is nothing new for you as you guys celebrate Thanksgiving and even though I may have spent a couple of years in the States, somehow I was able to miss out on tasting the Pumpkin pies... For us Aussies, things like pumpkin and sweet potatoes are usually reserved for savoury dishes only like roasts and curries, so to actually make it into a sweet dessert (breakfast) dish is something that we just don’t do- ever, but I did and it is absolutely scrumptious.

So why did I choose to use sweet potato for the base of this pie?
Simply because I needed a sweet for breakfast that was a super duper healthy sweet and sweet potato has it all. (and then the internet searched happened...)

SPP1.png

Sweet Potato, not to be confused with a Yam, which although very similar, is a different species, is also know as Kumera to many Polynesian, West Indian and Caribbean Nations and has a huge amount of nutrients in it, such as being an excellent source of beta carotene, vitamin C, and potassium. They are also a decent source of many other vitamins and minerals.

Sweet potatoes are rich in many plant compounds, such as beta carotene, chlorogenic acid, and anthocyanins.

Sweet potatoes are likely healthier than regular potatoes. They have a lower GI, more fiber, and large amounts of beta carotene.

Sweet potatoes may have a variety of benefits, including improved blood sugar regulation and reduced oxidative damage.

https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/foods/sweet-potatoes#benefits

However, Sweet Potatoes, like virtually every food, has it's negatives too, such as having a high glycemic index and glycemic loadβ€”almost as high as that of a white potato https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/carbohydrates/carbohydrates-and-blood-sugar/ And eating many high-glycemic-index foods – which cause powerful spikes in blood sugar – can lead to an increased risk for type 2 diabetes, (2) heart disease, (3), (4) and overweight, (5,6) (7). There is also preliminary work linking high-glycemic diets to age-related macular degeneration, (8) ovulatory infertility, (9) and colorectal cancer. (10) So even though It's full of nutrition, it's a naturally sweet sweet that I will be eating in moderation...https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/carbohydrates/carbohydrates-and-blood-sugar/

And as you can see, I also used a handful of Prunes instead of any kind of other overly processed sugar.

SPP2.png

I also had a head of very nutritious Cauliflower in the fridge, waiting for me to portion it up, put it in the freezer to use in my daily fruit smoothies (as suggested by my lovely AND extremely knowledgeable new Osteo Dr Sarah Meade from Agility Osteopathy in South Melbourne) and so as I find cauliflower to be such a bland tasting vegetable anyway, I knew that it would be overpowered by everything else that I mixed with it and decided to throw some in too.

SPP16.png

Anyway so the first thing I did was put the SP, Caulie and Prunes into a tiny amount of water as I didn’t want to overcook them- just steamed them a touch really.

SPP3.png

Then as I HATE to waste things- especially good healthy things like veggie water...I drained the liquid out into the raw Cocoa powder to make the chocolate sauce. (and OMG.😱.πŸ˜‹.πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹.)

SPP17.png

SPP4.png

SPP5.png

I then waited for the SP mix to cool and added the orange zest and squeezed the fresh juice in the for some added flavour

SPP9.png

the blended it all together

SPP10.png

added a touch of pink Himalayan salt (my ex-flatmates salt as I don't ever use salt unless it's Garlic Salt- which pretty much goes in everything cause it's GARLIC salt.πŸ˜‹..lol..🀣.) And a big dash of Cinnamon

SPP12.png

And then I saw the nanies, just sitting there looking all rejected and lonely, so I decided to throw a couple of them in, to make the mix, not only healthier, but also creamier. And we know how great Bananas are for us don't we.

SPP11.png

So while I was letting the mix cool, I made the pastry.

I was originally going to make a proper pie pastry, but I decided to go with the more of a crumbly biscuit base because I actually had some leftover home made 'flour' mix from a previous recipe that I made here @chocolatescorpi/using-natural-medicine-to-create-a-very-tasty-snack-great-for-the-heart-great-for-the-wasitline-and-even-better-for-the-mental- which was a combination of Oats that I ground into flour, Banana Chips and desicated Coconut.

SPP7.png

I made a little more Oat flour and added some more coconut flour

SPP6.png

Then added some Nut butter and got most of it mixed in the bag

SPP8.png

until it came time to fine tune it in the bowl

SPP21.png

Then when it was all nice and crumbly pressed into the pan to make the base and bake that in the oven for about 10 minutes until golden brown.

When it cooled down, I spread the chocolate sauce on the base and then spread the sweet potato mix on top of that and baked it for about another 15 minutes.

SPP13.png

I tried to decorate using the last of the chocolate sauce with a heart for #WORLDHEARTDAY, but my hands and fingers have never been very co-operative with me when it comes to physical arts and crafts....So it doesn't look pretty, but I'm not eating the 'look' of it- my stomach does not give 2 hoots about what it looks like, but my stomach, brain, tastebuds- everything, all care about what it tastes like and it it tastes truly incredible. πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜ƒ

So what would I change?
Well ONLY the amount of flour that used, because in the end it was a little to dry and crumbly (but YUMMMM anyway..🀣..)

SPP15.png

So I now have myself a delicious and seriously nutritious sweet dish for my breakfast and shouldn’t have to worry about a rising cholesterol too much and why you ask am I worried about my Cholesterol level increasing?

SPP18.png

So even though I eat really well- as in plant-based foods, such as salads, vegetables for salads, a lot of vegetables and very little to zero carbohydrates, I have also dropped my processed sugar content down to zero, but yet my cholesterol has gone up....

Even though we are now on our 54th day of lockdown no.6 and I’m spending a lot of time at my computer, I’m also getting up to dance for five or 10 minutes about every half an hour to an hour all day every day to get the heart pumping and the blood circulating and I’ve put on weight.

And infact, I went through this exact same pattern this time last year when we first went into lockdown. I decided to consider the lockdown is precious time not to be wasted and vowed to do everything in my power to lose weight.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

So I gave up all processed sugar and the only sugar that I was consuming was in my fresh fruit smoothies every morning.

I also gave up all fats- no snacks, no chips, no nothing and I lived the cleanest, healthiest plant-based vegan diet you can imagine, drinking ONLY water every day- 2-3litres.

I also did Qi Gong for the first hour of my day as a warmup to the 90 to 100 minutes of hard-core dancing for exercise every day and I didn’t lose a drop of weight for six months.

So thinking that something was wrong, I went to my GP and got a fasting blood test to check.

Myy BGL- blood glucose level had skyrocketed into Diabetic territory.

My cholesterol and triglycerides had skyrocketed too and my iron levels dropped almost to the point of being anaemic.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

Undeterred, I continued on my pathway to health and months later, I still never actually got any weight loss results and although I didn’t exactly DIVE off the wagon into a vat of Cadburyβ€˜s chocolate, I did start eating ice cream (even Soy icecream has a lot of sugar in it...) and processed chocolate biscuits again.

As I get a regular set of fasting bloods taking every 6 months due to the fact that I have a heart condition AND I'm on medications for it, I got another one earlier and all of those areas that had skyrocketed when they should’ve gone down, had now gone down when really they should’ve gone up…

So, I did the same thing this year- this lockdown and I gave everything up again to eat the healthiest diet you can imagine.

And so what happened last week when I got another set of bloods taken.... my cholesterol has gone up...and although it's not high, it’s too high for somebody with a heart condition.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

So here we go again, living in an upside down world....which is why I am determined to sugar free and veganise every recipe I find or create by using the most nutritionally beneficial ingredients.

Speaking of heart condition, today 29th of September is #WORLDHEARTDAY and I highly recommend that you read my article here @chocolatescorpi/love-your-heart-and-listen-to-it-world-heart-day-29th-september-2021 because it has lots of information on different ways that the different parts of your body and your lifestyle can have an impact on your heart.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

All too often the wide variety of heart conditions are all lumped underneath that one generic problem of 'heart disease' from high cholesterol and plaque blocking the arteries, whereas this article will show you in so many ways, that that is just not true at all.

So if you actually care about your heart and how everything in your body from hormones, to stomach to Vagus nerve, lack of sleep and so many other things can affect your heart that are highly recommend reading this. @chocolatescorpi/love-your-heart-and-listen-to-it-world-heart-day-29th-september-2021

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

Anyway so having a sweet tooth, I have made myself something sweet and healthy for breakfast- which I wholeheartedly believe is the best time to eat sweets instead of the usual time that people do- afternoons, but mainly after dinner.

The END

SPP20.png

Thank you so much for reading my post , I really hope that you enjoyed it and look forward to your comments and thoughts.

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

And unless otherwise stated- ALL photographs, all media, material and writings, are all my originals taken by me sometime in the past few decades or so somewhere in my travels and as such, ofcourse they are subject to all international IP and copyright laws and I may have already used them for my own commercial purposes here https://www.redbubble.com/people/CHOCOLATESCORPI/shop And here https://fineartamerica.com/art/chocolatescorpi, So please ask first if you want to use any of them as we wouldn't want you getting into trouble. Thank you 😊

πŸ πŸƒπŸŒπŸ•·πŸπŸ“πŸ¦†πŸΈπŸπŸΏπŸ¦‹πŸ’πŸžπŸ¦πŸˆπŸ¦†πŸ₯πŸœπŸ¦‘πŸ›πŸ„πŸ¦‡πŸͺπŸ¦πŸ³πŸŠπŸ¦€πŸ¦ŒπŸ–πŸ’πŸπŸ‹πŸ

The Ladies of Hive- your own crypto world girl gang full of fun and suprises, so click on the link to find out more about this brilliant community of caring, companionship and creative contests, such as this one....@ladiesofhive/ladies-of-hive-community-contest-50

@hiveaustralia, formerly @teamaustralia check us out now!
(cause we're allsuch damn cool cats...😁

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency