Salad buffet at home with 3 dressings

DSC_7187.jpg

Yesterday my plans to make something hot for dinner, took a detour. I was in my kitchen when I smelled something burning like an electrical fire. It was harsh and I didn't know where it was coming from. It got stronger and stronger.

I looked at everything and nothing was on in the apartment. Nothing was burning. I thought it must be someone else. It was super unnerving. I ran to the floor above and the one below. My heart was racing.

I couldn't smell anything from anywhere until I went back to my apartment. When Marc walked in after going to the store, he started looking with me. We opened the windows and the smell was still bad. I wanted to call the caretaker but I couldn't find the number. Finally I opened the hot water closet and I could smell where it was coming from. Something inside blew up.

The smell faded a bit and now we are without hot water. We don't like to bother people on the weekend so I'll wait to track them down after they have their time off.

It was, and still is -13C. This is when I want to have an epic bowl of soup, but I didn't want to dirty too many pots and pans. I have to heat the water to clean them.

I like to have a salad everyday, and I did have a fridge full of veggies, so that was dinner. I decided to make a choice of dressings to choose from to make it more fun.

I used to occasionally consume "ranch" dressing, many years ago. If you asked for that in a restaurant around here, they would most likely not have it.

I made a dressing similar with dill and green onion.

Creamy Dill Dressing

120g vegan mayo
50g white wine vinegar
20g lemon juice
50g plant milk(I use soy)
10g garlic
20g green onion
5g fresh dill
10g agave(optional)
1 tbs black pepper
1tsp onion powder
Salt to taste

3.jpg

Mince the garlic, dill and onion, fine or put in a chopper like I did. If you don't want the dressing to be very green dressing chop it by hand and mix it in gently.

4.jpg

Add the dill onion mixture to the mayo, and dijon mustard.

5.jpg

Before I added the milk I combined it with the vinegar and lemon to make a buttermilk. After sitting for five minutes or so it curdles. This is probably not necessary. I did it anyway.

6.jpg

Whisk in the "buttermilk" until blended. If you don't want to use store bought vegan mayo you can just use blended soaked cashews.

7.jpg


The next dressing is really a trip down memory lane for me. It was a popular commercial dressing back when shoulder pads were popular. In those days I had never met anyone who made their own salad dressing.

If you asked for this dressing at restaurant these days, the staff would think you're out of your mind. They most likely wouldn't know what it is.

The one I'm making is my own interpretation of it. It has the basic ingredients of the store bought one and is so easy to whip up, I don't know why I haven't done it before.

Thousand Islands dressing

350g vegan mayo
80g ketchup
10g lemon juice
30g vinegar
100g relish or chopped pickled cucumbers
80 onion
10g garlic
15g Frank's red hot sauce or tobasco
10g Bragg's liquid aminos (soy sauce)
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp black pepper

The braggs aminos was to substitute for Worcestershire sauce. I don't have the vegan one. It would have been fine without it but it gave a little extra something.

DSC_7093.jpg

You could grate the onion with the grater for best results. In that case the juices could be added for extra flavor and the onion would be well minced.

I just used the knife and chopped it finely.

q.jpg

I simply whisked all of the ingredients together and "boom"!!! It was better than store bought.
DSC_7101.jpg

The next one is another old times popular dressing, which could be confused with French dressing from the day. A French chef would not likely make anything like the classic light orange bottled French dressing.

The one that is similar to that old bottled French dressing is Catalina which is what I've made. This is another old times dressing that would make a Millennial's head spin with confusion, if you asked for it. This is a tomato based sweet and tangy dressing.

Catalina dressing

15g shallot
10g garlic
15g dijon mustard
40g oil
40g tomato puree
40g agave
30g white vinegar
1 tsp black pepper
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp thyme

DSC_7104.jpg

Minced the shallots finely and add them to a bowl with the tomato puree, dijon, and seasonings.

DSC_7120.jpg

Add the vinegar and lemon. Whisk until smooth.

DSC_7126.jpg

I added the oil that I had measured out then I decided on more. It was calculated roughly into the recipe.

When adding the oil, drip slowly while whisking. You can also do it in a processor but I didn't want to get it dirty.

DSC_7084.jpg

These dressings take me down memory lane, when salads were just a thing to eat while you're waiting for your main course. It still can be, but now salad is more popular as a full course.

DSC_7130.jpg


Behold the freshly harvested lettuce from the supermarket shelf garden.

DSC_7147.jpg

I couldn't have a salad with just lettuce so I dragged out what I had that could be smothered in dressing.

DSC_7137.jpg

Marc was not super excited about only having salad, so I added some items that were easily cooked and cooled for extra bulk.

2.jpg

I also added some peanuts, raisins, vegan parmesan, and snow peas.

1.jpg

To further enhance the buffet, I cooked quinoa, boiled potatoes, and opened up a can of chickpeas.

He still wasn't too excited for salad.

DSC_7180.jpg

I had to seal the deal with some grilled tempeh. The only quick solution that I had. I quickly boiled it in broth for half an hour than used my little electric grill to grill it. I simply basted it with vegetarian hoisin sauce. "Boom" that did the job!

DSC_7190.jpg

I like a squeeze of citrus on almost everything. So I cracked open a couple of limes and clementines and gave a squeeze.

DSC_7170.jpg

How can two people eat so much? Well it's just salad and also....leftovers.

DSC_7182.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

All photos taken with a Nikon d7500 by me except the ones of me taken by my other half.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
32 Comments