Cauliflower / beet soup and beet hummus -Fast food at home

Untitled-1.jpg

Hello Hive friends.

For quite some time during our summer, I have been at a height of exhaustion and sleep deprivation.

I discovered that a broom stick pounding on the ceiling can stop the guitar man upstairs from infiltrating my sound space.Things may be looking up for that interference of my sleep. I just don't know what to do about the loud mouth women in the next building and a toddler that screams like he's being tortured. We'll see.

For this reason I need to make food for us that is simple and can be done fast so I can get back to doing nothing.

Making simple and fast food doesn't necessarily mean opening a package and letting it cook. I do that as well but that wouldn't be anything to share.Yesterday I had a lettuce sandwich with mayo.Sad but did the job.

1.jpg

Cauliflower beet soup

Cauliflower 300g (I used purple and white)
Beets 80g
Onion 150g
Garlic 15g
Carrot 50g
Potato 300g
White wine(optional) 1/4 cup
Cider vinegar 1 tablespoon
Agave nectar 1 teaspoon
Onion powder 1 teaspoon
Garlic powder 1 teaspoon
Thyme 1/2 teaspoon
Black pepper 1 teaspoon
Soy cream (or other cream) 250 ml
Vegetable broth 1 to 1/2 litre
Salt to taste

These amounts are approximate. I actually don't measure anything but I weighed out what I used to start. I added more seasoning and other ingredients to adjust for my taste.

I had some organic market vegetables left over in the fridge. I felt like having soup. With a few ingredients I whipped up a cream soup. I have no preference. I just like soup.

This was made in a little more time than it takes to cook the vegetables through.

DSC_7742.jpg

I just chopped everything roughly, knowing that in the end it would be blended.

DSC_8274.jpg

First cook the onions with a little oil in the pan then add garlic and seasonings.

DSC_7743.jpg

Add the veggies and cook on medium for a few minutes, covered, without the liquid to braise everything for extra flavour.

DSC_7751.jpg

Add the vegetable broth. I often have a homemade broth in the fridge but not this time. I usually have a broth powder on hand just in case and also often a carton of vegetable broth in the cupboard. This time I made a litre of broth from a cup of powder. The kind I use has no MSG and is not super salty so I use a lot.

DSC_7755.jpg

After cooking until the potatoes and beets are tender, blend with your choice of blender. I used a hand blender so I wouldn't have to wait for it to cool down.

I think most of us know what happens when we put hot stuff into a blender. I've learned the hard way a long time ago.

DSC_8294.jpg

I added to the creaminess by putting in the soy cream. It would have been fine without but I wanted it extra creamy and silky.

DSC_7825.jpg

The result is comforting and pleasing to look at. Even Marc really liked it. I was worried that he would be put off by the pinkness.

DSC_7839.jpg

The flower garnish is a nasturtium. I picked it from a garden around the corner in a public space. There are many of them so it didn't leave a dent. These flowers are edible but I didn't eat it. It's a photo prop. I don't like them. Guilty as charged.

DSC_7838.jpg

Beets can go a long way if you use them to colour food and add a sweet earthy flavor. I had a few left in the fridge, so they were boiled up.

2.jpg

I like to roast them for maximum flavor but there wasn't enough of them. I would just use them for hummus. The last time I made beet hummus I added strawberries to it. Strange I guess but it worked very well. This time I just used the beets.

DSC_8270.jpg

Beet hummus

Chickpeas 2 cups dried soaked and cooked
Cooked beets 2 cups
Lemon juice 1/2 cup
Tahini 1/2 cup
Garlic 4 cloves
Dill 1/4 cup chopped fresh
Olive oil 3 tablespoons
Water to blend
Salt and pepper to taste

DSC_8303.jpg

I had already cooked chickpeas in the fridge. I often use canned but cooking soaked chickpeas is simple, less expensive and better.

DSC_8281.jpg

When I cook chickpeas I add a half teaspoon of baking soda. This makes the chickpeas softer, resulting in a smoother hummus. I don't mind canned chickpeas for stews or curries.

DSC_8299.jpg

Simply add the ingredients in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth. I adjusted with a little water to smooth it out. It's a matter of taste when deciding on consistency. I like to have it thick enough to dip or spread.

DSC_8317.jpg

I added some capers that I had for a garnish. I also drizzled some good quality olive oil on top.

DSC_8319.jpg

This was accompanied with crostini made from Italian buns that I got from a bakery down the street. They are addictive. I have to stop myself from eating too much of them.

DSC_8341.jpg

Well that was the pinkest lunch we have ever had to this day. I really don't know if I can beet that. Get it? I'll stop now.

DSC_8328.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a great day.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 and are of my ownership

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now