Books have souls (ENG/ESP)

vielsi 4.jpg
Photo: Luís Felipe Hernández
@laimagenhabla

Book and Language Day is celebrated around the world on April 23rd. Its celebration is due to the strange coincidence of the death of three literary classics: Miguel de Cervantes, Williams Shakespeare and Garcilaso de la Vega.

Making a book is a very ancient craft, which accounts for the human invention of technology. Books have always gone hand in hand with the spirit that animates an era. Since the thought that circulates or is hidden always responds to many interests. Through books, many thinkers of humanity circulated their ideas and had a social impact.

El 23 de abril se celebra en todo el mundo el día del libro y el idioma. Su celebración se debe a la extraña coincidencia de la muerte de tres clásicos de la literatura: Miguel de Cervantes, Wiliams Shakespeare y Garcilaso de la Vega.

Hacer un libro es un oficio muy antiguo que da cuenta de la invención del ser humano de la tecnología. Los libros siempre han ido de la mano del espíritu que anima una época, puesto que el pensamiento que circula o se oculta siempre responde a muchos intereses. A través de los libros muchos pensadores de la humanidad pusieron a circular sus ideas e incidieron socialmente.

1.jpg
Photo: Luís Felipe Hernández
@laimagenhabla

In short, books have an incalculable transforming power and even a certain mysterious sense of their relationship with us. Without proposing them, the book always comes to our hands when we need it. A good book illuminates your life, makes you reflect, travel and encourages you to look for other texts.

When you read it, you feel like you are talking to the author and sometimes you find yourself in that story and it seems that it is the reader who finishes it.

En definitiva, los libros tienen un poder transformador incalculable y hasta cierto sentido misterioso en su relación con nosotros. Sin proponernólos, el libro siempre llega a nuestras manos cuando necesitamos de él. Un buen libro ilumina tu vida, te hace reflexionar, viajar y te anima a buscar otros textos.

Cuando uno lee siente que habla con el autor y a veces se encuentra en esa historia y parece que es el lector quien la termina.

libro lentes.jpg

Photo:Fuente

With the passage of time, many books have passed through my hands, texts with which I established an affective relationship because they always left me open to the possibility of ending the story in another way. I am referring to authors such as: Juan Rulfo, Vicente Gerbasi, Gabriel García Maquez, Jorge Isaacs, Enriqueta Arvelo Larriva, Ana Enriqueta Terán, Francisco de Miranda, Alejo Carpentier, to name a few. Thanks to books, I awakened my sensitivity for writing, I was able to overcome many difficult situations and look at life from a different perspective.

As a child I lived in a town far from the city, a beautiful place where there was little television signal and I did not have many options to distract myself. In my house, there was an old library belonging to my father and with his books I grew up and later I came to have my own library. Since then, reading has been a form of recreation for me. I read a lot and everything I can get my hands on.

Con el paso del tiempo, han pasado por mis manos muchos libros, textos con los que establecí una relación afectiva porque siempre me dejaban abierta esa posibilidad de terminar la historia de otra forma. Me refiero a autores como: Juan Rulfo, Vicente Gerbasi, Gabriel García Maquez, Jorge Isaacs, Enriqueta Arvelo Larriva, Ana Enriqueta Terán, Francisco de Miranda, Alejo Carpentier, por nombrar algunos. Gracias a los libros, desperté mi sensibilidad por escribir, pude superar muchas situaciones difíciles y mirar la vida desde otro lugar.

De niña viví en un pueblo alejado de la ciudad, un lugar hermoso donde había poca señal de televisión y no tenía muchas opciones para distraerme. En mi casa, había una vieja biblioteca de mi padre y con sus libros fui creciendo y luego llegué a tener mi propia biblioteca. Desde entonces, para mi leer es una forma de recrearme. Leo mucho y todo cuanto llega a mis manos.

book-1052014_1280.jpg

Photo:Fuente

Since we lived in a distant village, my mother chose to teach me to read at home when I was 4 years old. I went to school for the first time when I was seven and already knew many things, thanks to my mother. I have not stopped reading, I buy and give books as gifts and have had the opportunity to teach others.

Thanks to books, I was able to see the world as a more human place, I was able to row through difficulties and dream even though things are not exactly the way you want them to be. When you read, you have come from a long journey, from a bath from which you leave with a clean soul.

Como vivíamos en un pueblo, lejano, mi mamá optó por enseñarme a leer en casa a los cuatro años de edad. Fui a la escuela por primera vez cuando tenía siete y ya sabía muchas cosas, gracias a mi madre. No he dejado de leer, compro y regalo libros y he tenido la oportunidad de enseñar a otros.

Gracias a los libros pude ver el mundo como un lugar más humano, remar con las dificultades y soñar a pesar de que las cosas no sean exactamente como las quieres. Cuando se lee, se ha llegado de un largo viaje, de un baño del que sales con el alma limpia.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now