Not Even Bones(comic review)

I guess it was so dumb of me to think they'd have the same pattern of algorithm when featuring products because their both first letters are the same. Comics featured by webtoon are so good,I can't even lie. This is very different from Wattpad;most of their featured content isn't so good. But that's not the topic here. The topic is comics,webtoon and entertainment.

I had just finished the comic @Deraaa recommended to me when she told me about this prompt. I was thrilled at first because I absolutely love comics and talking about them but then I started panicking,just a little bit. My favourite comic is every comic I like. I do not have a favourite. It's so hard to pick one,although I do rate some higher than the other but that doesn't really count,does it? I decided to opt for the second option; a comic I'm currently reading.

Screenshot_20241010-231121_1.png

Screenshot

I'm reading Not even Bones at the moment. It was written and produced by Stephen Lanm,edited by David S.lee and its art was drawn by Alai Cinereo. Although,some of these persons were changed throughout the comic. But nevertheless,they are the starters of the series in 2019. Not even Bones is based on the book Not even Bones, the first installment in the trilogy,"Market of Monsters",written by Rebecca Schaeffer.

I have been subscribed to this comic for a really long time,6 months to be exact. I never really got that feeling to read it,I just liked the cover cause it was really pretty and decide to subscribe to it. Now,I wish I started reading it earlier.

The comic is based on a girl,Nita who dissects unusual(supernatural) beings for her mum to sell on the black market. Before I continue,I just want to say this is a triggering comic. I can't describe the extremities due to the amount of gore I'm comfortable with and call normal but it might be different for other people. It's said in the beginning of the comic that it contains some triggering scenes and gore. Ha,I'm just exaggerating. It's not that bad.

20241010_224404.jpg

Screenshot

Nita barely has a say in her life. She works for her mother by helping her dissect the bodies of unnatural beings on the list. The list simply refers to a list of supernatural beings including the names of the few unnatural humans who are known to possess such abilities.

Nita's mum,Nuomi trades body part of this unnatural to the black market. Nuomi brings already dead unnaturals so it was easier for Nita to do dissect their body and pack the up for sale. A certain night,Nuomi came back home with something strange or I'd say someone. It was a boy and he was alive. Nita was intrigued with the boy and why he was here,still breathing. Nita's mum explains how he was a worth of really huge amount of money and emphasized further with the statement,"His previous owners sold a vial of his blood for $10,000".

20241010_224617.jpg

Screenshot

I haven't finished the comic yet so I can't give a brief plot without giving out so much spoilers but so far, it's been really good. I like the way the comic tends to bring into the open things that actually happen in real life. It's not all fun and games, sparkle and rainbow everywhere. Fast forward to where I'm at now in the comic; Nuomi's mother betrays Nita and sells her off to the black market. And Nita's an unnatural also.

I would like to talk about the consistency of the team lifting Not even Bones. I admire the dedication,the beautiful upgrade in the artwork as it progresses and the beautiful story. It's a completed series so you can read it completely without getting a mini heartbreak reaching the last chapters to see the creators are on hiatus.

And as for one of the comics I rate higher than others; Purple Hyacinth. One of my best comics in 2024. It's not completed,the creators has been on hiatus for three years now so I'm not really excited to advertise their work but it's worth reading!

Back to Not even Bones. A very lovely comic. I haven't read it up to its middle chapters yet but it's already surpassing my expectations.

Thanks for reading...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center