A Good Girls Guide to Murder - A beautiful life turned into the myth of a monster (Book Review)


### 80% of missing people are found in the first 24 hours, 97% are found in the first week. 99% of cases are resolved in the first year but 1% of people who disappear are never found.


I scrolled through my e-library. I didn’t know what to read. I wanted something soft. Probably a romance novel, a rom-com or whatever. I did not just feel like reading something too intense but I scrolled through my e-library and looking at the books there, I had a feeling that something soft was not included in all the books there, lol. There were quite a lot I haven’t read there but I didn’t think there was something less intense in that collection.

Then, what did I do?

In that situation, every other normal human will go and download a new book. But no, where’s the fun in normal? I instead clicked on the button that shows my reading progress this year and how far I’ve read each book there. Then, I saw A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

According to the app, I started reading this book about two months ago but I hadn’t even read up to 5% of it before I dropped it. I cant remember why though. So, I decided to hop back into it and I’m very grateful for that decision.

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder follows a 17 year old girl, Pippa fitz-Amobi who decides to investigate a murder that happened in her town five years ago when given a school project on investigative journalism. The murder of Andie bell and Sal Singh, two 18years olds. Although the police 5years ago, had concluded that Sal had murdered Andie due to a misunderstanding in their relationship, and after 3days, he committed suicide because he couldn’t withstand the guilt, the verdict did not sit right with Pippa. Therefore, when she is given a project at school and is given the freedom to pick any topic she wants, she decides to look into the murder of Andie Bell and Sal Singh case from 5years ago. Ravi Singh, Sal’s brother joins her in her quest to uncover the truth and they both discover many secrets hidden away by the inhabitants of the town.

I love love loved the whole Andie Bell, Sal Singh murder story. The first few pages of the book just let us in on how Pip met Ravi, why Pip decided to settle for this case and not what happened to Andie Bell and Sal Singh. Particularly, I loved the fact that the author made Pippa, the main character as clueless about the case as the reader. Weirdly, I loved that. So, as Pippa learned more about the case from her interviews with people involved, the reader learned about it too.

Also, I loved the fact that this book didn’t require any side or supporting plots to give it a substantial storyline. As a reader, I didn’t have to deal with what was going on with other characters as the whole story was centered on Pip’s quest to know What happened to Andie Bell and Sal Singh five years ago? To be very honest, I was very grateful for this because that was what I came for. I wasn’t interested in some other side character’s life like we see in so many books lately. Every time spent reading this book was worth it.

I loved Pippa and Ravi’s relationship. It was a perfect reklationship without any romantic tendency attached to it. They were portrayed as just friends who worked together to achieve a common goal. Their friendship was a beautiful thing to read.

You know, when a character is going through his/her thought process and before the right answer comes, you’re given about three lines of mildly unnecessary information to get your own answer before the main answer comes, that happened a lot in this book. My head worked alongside Pip’s and I was glad to see myself get the same deductions as Pip. That just made me love the book more.

At this point, I might just have a special place in my heart for authors named Holly. The first author named Holly I came across was Holly Black with her book The Cruel Prince (Folk of the air series) and now, Holly Johnson is here with A Good Girls Guide to murder.

I’ll rate the book a 9 out of 10 because I completely found it worth every second, minute and hour I spent on it. To all ye bibliophiles out there, I present to you A GOOD GIRLS GUIDE TO MURDER. As intriguing as the title sounds, so is every interview, transcript and recording by Pippa. I assure you, its definitely something you’ll love.


Are you reading any book currently? If yes, what’s it about?
As for me, I heard there’s a sequel to this book I just reviewed. So, that’ll be my next read definitely.


Thanks so much for reading. Do have a great day.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center