Review of Life at the Top (A Webnovel)


Inage generated using craiyon ai app

I haven't been too a bookstore lately and have reread most books in my shelves. Actually I'm scrimping money so I'm staying away from bookstores. The next best thing to do is find something to read on the net.

One time while scrolling on my FB feed, I saw a teaser of a webnovel. They pop up a lot so sometimes I'd accidentally press them. Usually I'd just pay them no mind but before I pressed the back button I kind of fast read what was on my field of vision. Somehow it was interesting so I read on a bit. But then at the end it said I need to download the reader app to continue reading the rest of thr story.

So I downloaded the app. Then I found out it isn't free, so I just removed the app.

Most of the stuff I read are about son-in-laws being looked down but then turns out to be some big shot billionaire or martial arts expert or divine healer. I don't really like those but they have some entertainment value for sure. But I don't read something if it's just a rehash of something I've read previously. I understand like some people just change the characters and the title but literally the same stuff.

However, I discovered this site Favo novel dot com. Currently I'm reading this stuff entitled Life at the Top, which follows the entrepreneurial exploits of Jasper Laine.

Usually I'm not impressed with webnovels in general because most are terribly written (or just poor translation). But Life at the Top kind of stayed away from the lived in son-in-law trope, and is actually well researched and not that badly written as compared to a lot I've seen.

The story is about a man who gets a chance to relive life 20 years prior to zero hour. Jasper was a run of the mill financial analyst with lots of financial troubles brought about by his wife Penelope. He got to relive his life going back to the point where he could make a decision before marrying Penelope with all the memories intact.

Realizing he could seize many opportunities like when the stock markets became bullish and bearish, which stocks to buy before they took off or short sell before a stock plummets, stuff like that. He set on a path to seize every opportunity he could remember.

As the story goes, he became a big shot but along the way encountering the travails of setting up a business empire.

I find the story really fun as it gives insight on many aspects of running a business including the dark side of business deals. To me, those are the stuff that's hooking me than the overall story.

The webnovel is still ongoing and is written by a person who goes by the pen name Cold Night.

Mostly these webnovels are rubbish but I'll say this one is decent.

Happy reading 📖

Caveat: favo novel dot com has lots of ads. An ad pops out whenever you will click the next chapter.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments