Meeting Katsa, My Favourite Fictional Character In The Graceling Realm Series

IMG_20230804_213042.png Image credit: Victoria_Rain

The Hive Book Club Community Contest #10 is an interesting one that takes me straight into the fantasy realm! I'm a bookworm and love the fantasy genre the most. It's easy to get lost in the pages of books simply because the fantasy realm is far more fascinating than our real one…maybe because it's less challenging and things just go seamlessly over there. Hehe.

What Would You Do if You Met Your Favourite Fictional Character?

This is a very hard one—I have many favourite fictional characters and want to gush about all of them so you, my dear readers, can see their great qualities through my eyes. But I'll settle for this one fantastic lady.

Yes! I admire fictional female characters who are independent, inspiring, defy societal expectations and control (a rebel, in a good way) and empathic. Very few people have these qualities and the real world can be tough, making them hide who they are. In fiction, these women are fearless and stand up for what they want.

When I read the Graceling Realm series some years ago, I immediately fell in love with Katsa, a powerful graceling. This series focuses on humans in a fantasy realm born with extraordinary abilities called "grace" that makes them stand out above others. Once they are discovered from infancy through the permanent change of eye colour, they are separated and become the property of the king of Middluns to use as he sees fit. Those without grace are called "ungraced". That's one society where discrimination is rife and I'll probably cry all day if I was born there ungraced!

Screenshot_2023-08-03-19-39-50-897_com.goodreads-edit.jpg
Screenshot from my e-library

Katsa is one intriguing character with unique features—one eye is blue and the other is green and she's beautiful. At first, she thinks her grace is "killing" which King Randa, their corrupt and cruel ruler, exploited by using her to take out some of his enemies in battles.

After her friendship with Po, another graceling, deepens, she learns that her grace is survival. She's tough and survived terrible situations where others would faint and waste away. She's stern, easily provoked to anger, and physically strong (disarms strong men bigger than her in stature). But one trait that counters her fierceness is her kind heart.

If I met Katsa, I would want her to take me on a tour around Randa city and the kingdom of Middluns. The way the author, Kristin Cashore, describes Middluns and the people is fascinating. I would want to meet other gracelings and ungraced and understand their lifestyle. While on this tour, I would ask Katsa to teach me some of her self-defence moves, sword lessons like she taught Bitterblue and survival skills. The scene where she travelled with Po (her lover) to find his grandfather's kidnapper was particularly fascinating. It involved climbing snowy mountains in winter and facing some carnivorous animals!

Also, I would want to understand Katsa's internal struggles especially regarding her extraordinary skill and if she felt differently after losing the oppressive hold of king Randa to become a leader and part of the council. In my world, there are different forms of oppression everywhere and it takes a load of inner strength to separate oneself from such mess. My favourite fictional character may have one or two secrets to share on this.

If I had the opportunity to meet Katsa, I'm sure our conversations would run into nights and I still would want to know more. She's a compelling character that fascinates and makes me read the book again and again. If only wishes come true! Sigh.

divider curl .webp

If you have read Graceling, the first book in the Graceling Realm series, I would appreciate your comment.

This is my entry to the Hive Book Club Community Contest #10 and I invite @justclickindiva and @esther-emmanuel to join in this fun challenge!

Thank you for visiting my blog.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now