Meeting Meredith Bancroft.

Hello Hive book club community first time here😃


Literature they say mirrors the society and this is apt.
I belong to the school of thought that believes that novelists do a lot of work than movie directors, they don’t use physical props to create the story’s settings, they use mere words which are able to draw readers into the world of the story, and this readers are forced to be present while the action is ongoing and as well as feel what these fictional characters are also feeling.

I have read a good number of books, I have so many favourite authors and fictional characters that I love and adore and if I had the power to teleport to wherever they are, I'll do that without batting an eyelash but then again if wishes were horses beggars would ride right?

IMG_7221.jpeg
Screenshot from my e-library

My number one favourite fictional character that I would love to see is Meredith Bancroft in Judith Mcnaught Paradise.
I chose Meredith because I can relate with most of her childhood struggles, her childhood story screams my name. She grew up with a strict and overprotective father, one who was scared of having an average child, you must aim higher and higher, everything that doesn’t suit his standard was bad.
Stick to his words or you're finished! no room for objections or unnecessary pleadings as that only lands you in bigger trouble instead of solving anything. That’s the type of father I had while growing up, his strife to bring up his children without any form of blemish was his goal and we had to suffer for a very long time before we broke free.

While my father was able to change his lifestyle on time, Meredith's father Mr. Philip Bancroft's own change took a very long time.

What Would You Do if You Met Your Favorite Fictional Character?

The first thing I would do when I meet Meredith is to give her a big warm hug, a warm hug that speaks volumes of unspoken words, a hug that shows my alliance with her, a hug that says "I gotcha you sis!". That's the first thing I would do when I meet Meredith and we would probably weep together as we reminisce about all the struggles we had to go through as children and we would laugh about some crazy things, looking at how far we've come we'd fist pump, giggle and stare into empty space. Imagining this alone makes me feel giddy already and I wish I could send Meredith a copy of this post so she'll understand how much I love her and would want to meet her.

When I meet Meredith I would love her to teach me how to be calm, how to be calm in the eye of the storm because honestly I am not wired to be calm as I think the worst of situations and make things more complicated but meeting someone who was able to stay calm and not go ballistic after her secret of 11 years was put in the open, how does one put their acts together when the whole world gets to find out from the tabloids that you got married when you were just a teenager and got divorced that same year and this news comes to light when you are engaged and to be married to your present fiancé like wow! This was Meredith's big secret, she was married to Matthew Farrell when she was 18, she was pregnant and later had a miscarriage and finally had a divorce. This news came to limelight when she was about to be married to Parker Reynolds, speak of double trouble but in all of this Meredith held her head high and faced everything head on. Only God knows what I'll do if my secret of such magnitude comes out like that.
c7f7dc96-00a1-4ac4-b06c-bd1d4015607c.jpeg
I would also want Meredith to teach me how to forgive and love, how she was able to love her father after ruining her life for years, stealing her joy and happiness for so long yet she still tried to protect him. This is another form of love as most people would have deserted their old man and left him to die a lonely death.

I love how ambitious Meredith was, she gave her best till the very end even when her father made her feel she was not good enough she didn’t relent as she was the best among everyone in the Bancroft Company. I would love Meredith to give me some business tips but deep down I would have preferred to get schooled thoroughly in business by her but I know we won’t be able to hang out for too long as she’d be very busy so I’d stick with only the business tips as that is feasible.

Out of curiosity, I would love to get a peek into Meredith and Matt’s life to see the type of couple they made, I know they were crazy about themselves but seeing them assuming the role of husband and wife and also mummy and daddy would be so cute, having little Merediths and Matts running around the house would be nice to watch and if Meredith comes with her little princess Marissa I would be more than happy as I would love to see who Marissa looks like between the two of them, playing with Marissa as I hang out with her mum would be so much fun.
c7f7dc96-00a1-4ac4-b06c-bd1d4015607c.jpeg
Not to bore Meredith with only questions about her life, when we meet I would want us to play some games, attend a “not so sophisticated” party as she was already used to sophisticated parties and of course we would disguise ourselves we can’t stand the risk of being followed by the paparazzi, I know Meredith is already accustomed to it but I am not and I wouldn’t want them to start keeping tabs on my daily activities.

I would basically show Meredith what life on the other side of the track looks like. Making sure Meredith has the time of her life before she goes back to all the glitz and glamour would be my number one priority.

Hanging out with Meredith would be so much fun and I bet after everything she’d want to hang out with me over and again.


This is my participation to the Hivebookclub Community Contest #10 I invite @beeeee and @amiegeoffrey

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Thanks for stopping by
Loads of LoveđŸ„°đŸ„°
XOXO

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now