Book Review: November 9 | No spoilers

Book Review: November 9 | No spoilers

png_20221224_030338_0000.png

Puedes ir directamente al español dando click AQUÍ


Hello, hiver! It's been a while since I've been in this community. These months have been chaotic, but it's time to rest and do things I really want to do. For example, reading and reviewing. Today I'll tell you about "November 9", a pretty special book. I liked this book so much that I need to convince you to read it, because it's really good. So I'd better stop talking and get to the action.

separa.png

9781501110344.jpg

Title: November 9
Publisher: Atria
Author: Collen Hoover
Pages: 320 pages

Synopsis

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her move across the country. Their immediate attraction leads them to spend Fallon's last day in Los Angeles together, and their eventful lives become the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Despite time, and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own lives, they continue to meet on the same date each year. Until one day, Fallon begins to doubt whether Ben has really been honest with her or if he is just fabricating a perfect reality in search of the ultimate plot twist.

Can the relationship Ben has with Fallon-and simultaneously his novel-be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak?


separa.png

IMG_20221223_213323.png

It's been years since I declared myself a fan and lover of Collen Hoover's books. She is simply a writing goddess. She has a place in my heart as well as Tarryn Fisher who, by the way, my next review will be of a book of hers that tore me in two. Collen and Tarryn are able to handle your emotions at their whim.

Kg-2.jpg

The book I'll tell you about today I read a long time ago, but I remembered absolutely nothing of what I had read. So a few weeks ago I set out to get back into my reading habit, because it's something that makes me feel good and since I'm in a healing process, it works wonders for me.

I decided to read November 9 because I didn't remember anything about it, because we happened to be in November when I read it and because November is my birthday month (I was born on November 21). Not a bad plan.

separa.png


IMG_20221223_213718.png

I won't do spoilers, since I considered myself the #1 spoiler hater. I want you to read this book with no expectations and enjoy the journey as it should be. But something I will have to tell you besides the synopsis to get you a little interested. So here goes:

Fallon is a girl who has much of her body burned, including her face due to a fire. This has robbed her of all self-confidence, and her middle name became insecurity. One day, Fallon meets Ben, a creative writing student who plans to write his first novel. The two hit it off, but the problem is that Fallon is moving to New York and they will most likely never see each other again. The plan was as follows: they would see each other every November 9 at the same place, at the same time, for 5 years, with no contact between them during that time, only talking on the scheduled day, November 9. Based on that, Ben would write his novel. Will they be able to complete the 5 years? How will this story end?

separa.png

IMG_20221223_213916.png

I didn't remember how good this novel is. I finished reading it in about two days and that hasn't happened to me since I was 15 years old.

The book is narrated in first person, by Ben and Fallon. The chapters are divided by year, beginning each November 9.

The first half of the book is mostly all flowers and chocolates, and I mean that as a metaphor. Don't take it literally. In the second half of the book, things get much more intense. We start to get to know more about the characters, their history and their family, and it's a really mind-blowing denouement that leaves you very surprised.

I wasn't understanding anything, and the more I read the more uncertain I became about how things were going to end. This is a story full of tragedy and lots and lots of drama.

separa.png

What I can tell you, though, is that Ben is a great guy. He's a person with many layers and a huge story to tell behind him, I cried with his story because it's really painful and no child should be able to live through what he went through. And despite that and the trauma that accompanied him for years, he is a funny, loving, witty person, and capable of doing anything for his own. And capable of showing his love against all odds if necessary. I give this character a 10/10.

And Fallon... Fallon, Fallon. She's a girl with so many internal wounds, it's hard not to feel sympathy for her. Insecurity could lead to not living your life to the fullest and it's sad. I admit I identified with her a tiny bit, but nothing that bad with her story.

20221223_195210_0000-removebg-preview.png


separa.png

I'm not going to lie to you. It's a pink book, full of romance, but it's a Collen Hoover style pink book, and that's a good thing to say. Because it's pink, but with some pretty deep undertones and an excellent plot. In short: it will make you suffer a little.


To the characters I give a 10/10 because they were very well structured and nothing came out of Colleen's ass.

But I won't tell you more, I hope you liked my review and if you haven't read the book run and read it because you can't miss it. If you already read the book, I would love and read your opinion about it.

separa.png

Credits

Cover designed in canva
Dividers designed in Adobe Illustrator
Source 1
Source 2

gracias por leer definitivo.png

spanish

Reseña de libro: 9 de Noviembre | Sin spoilers

png_20221224_030338_0000.png

¡Hola, hiver! Hace un tiempo que no me pasaba por esta comunidad. Estos meses han caóticos, pero llegó el momento de descansar y hacer cosas que realmente quiero. Por ejemplo, leer y hacer reseñas. Hoy te hablaré de "9 de noviembre", un libro bastante especial. Este libro me gustó tanto que necesito convencerte de que lo leas, porque es buenísimo. Así que mejor dejo de hablar y paso a la acción.

separa.png

9781501110344.jpg

Título: 9 de Noviembre
Autor: Collen Hoover
Editorial: Atria
Páginas: ‎320 páginas

Sinopsis

Fallon conoce a Ben, un aspirante a novelista, el día antes de su mudanza al otro lado del país. Su atracción inmediata los lleva a pasar juntos el último día de Fallon en Los Ángeles, y su azarosa vida se convierte en la inspiración creativa que Ben siempre ha buscado para su novela. A pesar del tiempo, y en medio de las diversas relaciones y tribulaciones de sus propias vidas, ellos se siguen encontrando en la misma fecha cada año. Hasta que un día, Fallon comienza a dudar si Ben ha sido realmente honesto con ella o si sólo está fabricando una realidad perfecta en busca del último giro de su trama.

¿Puede la relación que Ben tiene con Fallon —y simultáneamente su novela— ser considerada una historia de amor si termina con un corazón roto?


separa.png

IMG_20221223_193556.png

Hace años que me declaré fan y amante de los libros de Colleen Hoover. Ella es simplemente una diosa de la escritura. Tiene un lugar en mi corazón así como Tarryn Fisher que, por cierto, mi próxima reseña será de un libro de ella que me partió en dos. Colleen y Tarryn son capaces de manejar tus emociones a su antojo.

Kg-2.jpg

El libro del cual te hablaré hoy lo leí hace mucho tiempo, pero no recordaba absolutamente nada de lo que había leído. Así que hace unas semanas me propuse retomar mi hábito de lectura, porque es algo que me hace sentir bien y como estoy en un proceso de sanación, me va de maravilla.

Decidí leer 9 de Noviembre porque no recordaba nada de él, porque casualmente estábamos en noviembre cuando lo leí y porque noviembre es mi mes de cumpleaños (nací el 21 de noviembre). Mal plan no fue.

separa.png


IMG_20221223_203744.png

No haré spoilers, ya que me consideró la hater #1 de los spoilers. Quiero que leas este libro sin expectativas y que disfrutes el viaje como debe ser. Pero algo tendré que decirte además de la sinopsis para que te intereses un poco. Así que aquí te va:

Fallon es una chica que tiene gran parte del cuerpo quemado, incluyendo su rostro debido a un incendio. Esto le ha robado toda la confianza en sí misma, y su segundo nombre pasó a ser inseguridad. Un día, Fallon conoce a Ben, un estudiante de escritura creativa que planea escribir su primera novela. Ambos se cayeron muy bien, pero el problema es que Fallon se muda a Nueva York y lo más probable es que nunca más se vean. El plan fue el siguiente: se verían cada 9 de noviembre en el mismo sitio, a la misma hora, durante 5 años, sin ningún tipo de contacto entre ellos durante ese tiempo, solo hablarían el día previsto, 9 de noviembre. En base a eso, Ben escribiría su novela. ¿Serán capaces de completar los 5 años? ¿Cómo acabará esta historia?

separa.png

IMG_20221223_193644.png

No recordaba lo buena que es esta novela. Terminé de leerla en dos días aproximadamente y eso no me pasaba desde que tenía 15 años.

El libro está narrado en primera persona, por Ben y Fallon. Los capítulos se dividen por año, comenzando cada 9 de noviembre.

La primera mitad del libro son, en su mayoría, puras flores y chocolates, y lo digo como una metáfora. No te lo tomes literal. En la segunda mitad del libro, las cosas se ponen mucho más intensas. Empezamos a conocer más de los personajes, su historia y su familia.Y es un desenlace realmente alucinante, que te deja muy sorprendido.

Yo no estaba entendiendo nada, y a medida que leía más incertidumbre sentía respecto a cómo iban a terminar las cosas. Esta es una historia repleta de tragedia y mucho, mucho drama.

separa.png

Lo que sí te puedo decir, es que Ben es un tipazo. Es una persona con muchas capas y una enorme historia que contar a sus espaldas, lloré con su historia porque es realmente dolorosa y ningún niño debería ser capaz de vivir lo que él vivió. Y a pesar de ello y el trauma que lo acompañó por años, es una persona divertida, amorosa, ocurrente, y capaz de hacer lo que sea por los suyos. Y capaz de demostrar su amor contra viento y marea si es necesario. Le doy un 10/10 a este personaje.

Y Fallon... Fallon, Fallon. Es una chica con tantas heridas internas, que es difícil no sentir compasión por ella. La inseguridad podría llevar a no vivir tu vida al máximo y es triste. Admito que me sentí un poquito identificada con ella, pero nada tan grave con su historia.

20221223_193246_0000-removebg-preview.png


separa.png

No te voy a mentir. Es un libro rosa, lleno de romance, pero es un libro rosa al estilo de Collen Hoover, y eso es algo bueno para decir. Porque es rosa, pero con un trasfondo bastante profundo y con una excelente trama. En resumen: te hará sufrir un poco.


A los personajes les doy un 10/10 porque fueron muy bien estructurados y nada salió del trasero de Colleen.

Pero no te diré más, espero que te haya gustado mi reseña y si no has leído el libro corras a leerlo porque no tiene pérdida. Si ya leíste el libro, me encantaría y leer tu opinión al respecto.

separa.png

Créditos

Portada diseñada en canva
Separadores diseñados en Adobe Illustrator
Fuente 1
Fuente 2

gracias por leer definitivo.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center