First Time Reading Mafia Books || Book Reviews.

20231016_230109_0000.png

In my teenage years, I heard of Mafia books but I didn't show interest in them not until recently. I must say I have missed a lot. I never thought I would actually enjoy reading Mafia books but I didn't start soft, I started hard. One of my friends recommended a dark mafia series to me. At first I didn't know it was dark and probably I wouldn't have read it, which makes me appreciative of the fact that I went into reading this series blind.

Chicago Ruthless Series is a dark mafia series that has three sequels for now and it is written by Sadie Kincaid. She is a dark romance author and she is very good at what she does, I can affirm that. The Chicago Ruthless Series centers around the Cosa Nostra mafia group that is based in Chicago and is ruled by the Moretti family. Salvatore Moretti who is the head of the Cosa Nostra for the past thirty decades, has four children and he has brutally trained his two sons to be ready to take over when he is gone. So each book in this series revolves around the children of Salvatore Moretti and each book in the series can be read as a standalone.

I have read all the books in the series for now and Sadie Kincaid is not stopping there because she has a new release by 2024 which I am anxiously waiting to read. Talking about Sadie's writing technique, she is fantastic. Her narrative techniques and style are easy to read. Though I think she needs to work on her descriptive technique (when she describes crime or Gothic scenes).

So let's review all the three books!

Book 1: Dante

IMG_20231016_215929.jpg

"Dante?" -Kat
"Yes, Kitten." -Dante

Katerina, a nurse who was kidnapped and sexually assaulted by two men for days two years, was roped in to pay her nonchalant brother's debt of half a million dollars to the Cosa Nostra Mafia group. Kat moved to a new neighborhood to have a fresh start and one day came home from work to meet two terrifying huge men who broke into her apartment.

Afraid, she tried to escape them but her attempt failed. Knowing who these dangerous people are, she knew that it might be the end of her life. No one encounters Dante Moretti and lives to tell the tale. Dante and his enforcer Maximo DiMarco came to collect the debt Kat's brother owed. Unfortunately, Kat has no money to pay them. For payment, Dante forcefully takes her away to work off her brother's debt by any means. Will Kat survive in the new world she has been dragged into?

This first book is very interesting, it is a enemies to lover story and it is fully packed with suspense, crime, murder, torture, assault, mystery and romance. Sadie introduces her character well and strongly. She built the story in a very interesting way that makes you keep reading to know where it all ends. Her two main characters are extracted from all the themes she explored in the story. I was hooked right from the beginning till the end and let's not even talk about the SPICY SCENES that had me grinning stupidly with eyes.

Rating this first book, I will give it 4 out of 5 stars. It was interesting, intriguing, full of mystery and thrilling. Would I recommend it? Yes I would. It was a good read for me and I think I will soon be addicted to dark mafia books. I don't but I see it happening.

Book 2: Joey

IMG_20231016_220005.jpg

"Maximo?" -Joey
"Yes Baby girl." -Maximo

Joey Moretti, Dante's baby sister who is a spoilt mafia princess but deep down she isn't a split princess. She is a princess that is not helpless. Joey's story centers around why her two brothers Dante and Lorenzo are protective of her and we get to know the real Joey.

This book can be read as a standalone. It is a brother's best friend romance. It features a jealous, possessive male character, Maximo DiMarco who is Cosa Nostra's Enforcer and Dante's right hand man. He is a man that has the mind of the devil, has a dark past and is ruthless. The Moretti family see him as one of them. Also to spice things up Sadie includes these features between the two main characters: praise, punishment, pierced male character, Inexperienced female character, and possessiveness.

Maximo's dark past caught up with him as he was trying to navigate his feelings for Joey. As he struggles with his feelings for her, he also fights to not break the vow he made to her two older brothers not to have anything to do with their little sister. Will Maximo keep to his word? Will he let his dark past haunt him?

As he fights to keep his darkness away from Joey, his past finally catches up with him and at the same time he breaks the vow he made to the Moretti brothers. Will their love for each survive the struggle? Will Maximo let Joey go?

Rating this second book, I will give 4 out 5 stars too. It was captivating, interesting, thrilling, suspenseful and it was packed with mystery. The twist and turn of this book kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldn't keep the book down, I just had to finish it. This sequel is not that gory like the first book, dark scenes were controlled and regulated. It was on a mild scale.

Sadie coined her character masterfully and the supporting characters were well written also. The themes explored were all centered around the two main characters and finally her narrative techniques were amazing.

Book 3: Lorenzo

IMG_20231016_220046.jpg

"Lorenzo?" -Mia
"Yes, Sunshine." -Lorenzo

This book contains a strong male that is grumpy and a soft female character who is described as sunshine. The two main characters of this book revolve around heartbreak, griefing, loss, and dom/sub relationship.

Lorenzo Moretti, is the first son of his family, born to be the head of the Cosa Nostra but he gave up his birthright for love. His father was not happy about it. He cursed him on his wedding day and his wife eventually died, taken away from him by cancer. Heartbroken, he swore never to love any other till his last breath but fate had a different plan for him.

Mia, a certified massage therapist and Katrina's cousin, comes to the Moretti's estate in an old mustang car seeking refuge. Mia is on the run for her life from her abusive husband, who is a decorated cop in Boston. The Moretti take her in as family but little did they know that Mia will be the woman to make Lorenzo break the vow he made to his dead wife. As Mia came into the lives of the Moretti, she brought trouble for me to Boston. Will the Moretti survive?

Now, this book didn't really meet my expectations and I was actually disappointed considering how long I waited for this book to be published. I have so many complaints about this book and I will talk about them.

Firstly, the story arc of this book was unbalanced, it wasn't fully fleshed out and the characters were not coined out from the themes that explored in the story. This book was supposed to be a dark mafia story but instead it took the form of a contemporary romance. Eighty percent of this book was steamy and the supporting story for this book faded out, which in the end made this book a story that was cooked straight out of Wattpad.

The characters were built weakly, lazy narrative techniques, themes explored were not fully explored, and the only thing I think was good about this book was the steamy scenes. For the steamy scenes, they were still not that good and at a point I got tired of reading how the two main characters f*cked.

Rating this book, I will give it 3 out of 5 stars. It didn't meet my expectations and I was disappointed.

Have you read Mafia books before? Do you like them?

3yZiouw5jgtrj8RZntzpYvPkttnUNCNB3bKsugcDmKrZysEhsVCu7HmxWG7sYd9c3PJiWe24wRnpAB7HXq2WMvHX9AyxjgRuTY38KWSsv8...GFDdhx4UzPxqzjjpVMXNYgRDyspwo7pFw2RpyHZvde1tK7QLmYqnXBk9hDVg1dAooe2nLquVnXKjzS2uR5yQNqx1V5qutNgmqpFfKYLpS93ajRQosgFNPk3e1s.gif
All images above are from my E-library

Header images compiled in Canva.

Thank you for visiting and supporting my blog 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center