Hive Book Club | Saturday Hangout

It's been so long since I sat down and talked about books. I mean, an actual conversation with fellow books lovers. I didn't realise how much I missed it. But Hive Book Club made it come to life today. The topic was;

What character would you like to meet in a fiction book and why?

I was reminded once again why I love books so much. Some of the books and characters discussed were my old favourites I grew up with. Some I haven't haven't heard of. The others I have but haven't read. I'll make sure to check them out and compare them to the characters as discussed.

My pick was Season of Crimson Blossoms by Abubakar Adam Ibrahim.


Season-of-Crimson-Blossoms.jpg


The book is a story about Hajiya Binta Zubairu, a fifty-five year old woman, reborn ten years after her husband’s death. She was robbed by Reza, a petty thief and a killer in his twenties. He had clasped his hand over her mouth to keep her from screaming while ordering her to show her golds and money. In that moment, she felt something. She realised that it was the first time a man had come that close since her husband and that part of her had been closed for too long. Reza, on the other hand, felt sorry because she reminded him of his mother, so decided to return the stolen items. They somehow started having an affair, meeting up at her home and later move to a hotel. Her family found out. Her second son, in fury, attacked Reza and was killed. Reza also got betrayed by a politician he did dirty jobs for and in the end died.

The reason I like the book is that it explores life in the northern part of Nigeria. It shows what it's like to grow up as a female deep into a culture that doesn't give you a lot of rights and freedom because of your gender. No, it isn't gory and there's no violence again women but that discrimination isn't lost in the narration.

The character I'd definitely like to meet is Binta. For someone who grew up there, lived the life and grew older obeying the rules till she's fifty-five, she'd have quite a lot to share. I don't think she would have followed the rules if she had discovered her freedom earlier.

Here are the books that were discussed;
Purple Hibiscus - Chimamanda Adichie
Things Fall Apart - Chinua Achebe
Around the World in Eighty Days - Jules Verne
Malazan Book of the Fallen - Steve Erikson
The Secret Lives of Baba Segi's Wives - Lola Shoneyin


You should come join us on discord

image source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center