Alamat ng Gubat - What is your Most Favorite Book and Why?

Hello Hive Book Club!

Two decades ago comics is one of my favorite past-time aside from playing with my friends outside our house. Back then, I used to save some penny from my school allowance so that I could rent comics to read on a nearby comics stand. I used to read a weekly issue of comics titled "Funny Komiks" back then. But comes a weekend when I was not able to see a new issue of Funny Komiks comics. So I ask the stand owner why there are no Funny Komiks, he simply answered... "There are no deliveries of Funny Komiks this time".

And that was it, the end of the comics that I came to love and read every weekend. I also used to read other comics back then, but Funny Comics was my favorite. I could not find any entertainment that Funny Komiks can provide on other comics at that time until I just realized that I already stopped reading comics altogether.

Then in the early 2000s (about 2004 if I remember it right) while I am playing with my friends at their house I saw a colorful object on their couch. When approached the object, I saw that it has a colorful cover designed to appeal to children. The cover was eye-catching so I immediately grabbed and browse through the pages. While I was browsing through pages and reading a little bit I just realized that I was hooked to the book.

As it turns out, it was a book titled "Alamat ng Gubat" written by Bob Ong and illustrated by a comic artist with a pen name Klaro. I was not able to finish reading it that time so I came back a couple of times to my friend's house just to read it.

One day, I just realized that the book has become my favorite and I borrowed it a couple of times from my friend just to read it again and again.

image.png

Source

Why Alamat ng Gubat is my Most Favorite

At first, I didn't realize that the book is my most favorite. I just know that I had read it a couple of times at my friend's house and borrowed it a couple of times more just to read it again and again.

Alamat ng Gubat is my most favorite because it was humorous, it appeals to people of all ages especially children and teenagers.

Alamat ng Gubat is my most favorite because of its colorful illustrations.

Alamat ng Gubat is my most favorite because of its engaging storyline (conversational storytelling).

The Characters

Tong

Tong is the main protagonist of the story. He is out to find a banana blossom to cure his ailing father. He was joined by friends in his quest to find a banana blossom deep into the forest. He's got a fiancee called Dalagang Bukid. Tong is a crab, Dalagang Bukid is a fish.

image.png

Source

Kuneho

Kuneho is one of Tong's friends. He joined Tong in his quest to find a banana blossom deep into the forest. Kuneho is a Rabbit.

Pagong

Pagong is also one of Tong's friends, he also joined Tong in his quest to find a banana blossom deep into the forest. Pagong is a turtle/tortoise

Aso

Aso is also one of Tong's friends. As far as I remember Aso and Tong met inside the met. Aso is a dog.

Leon

Leon is the main antagonist of the story. He is out to stop Tong from getting a banana blossom. Leon is a lion

Buwaya

Buwaya is also an antagonist of the story. In the story, he ate Tong's friends. Buwaya is a crocodile.

Daga

Daga is also one of the antagonists of the story. He is usually beside Leon, more like a sidekick. Daga is rat/mouse

Katang

Katang is Tong's brother that is a member of Leon's gang.

Maya

Maya is a bird, he is always portrayed cleaning the tooth of buwaya.

While I was writing this article I realized that Alamat ng Gubat is still my most favorite because it makes me want to buy the book online for safekeeping and also as a remembrance of my childhood.

So, that's it guys, Alamat ng Gubat is my most favorite. What about yours?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center