Book review : The perfect match and the perfect love // Revue livresque : The perfect match et the perfect love [FR/EN]

19.png

Hello friends and booklovers! 📚

How are you?

This weekend, I finally finished the duology “I'm not your soulmate” by Lyla Mars. It is composed of volume 1: The perfect match and volume 2: The perfect Love.

And I quite enjoyed my reading! So I'm going to share my little review with you.

I'm not your soulmate is a dystopia, a contemporary romance. I'm not used to reading dystopias, the last one was "Panorama" written by Lilia Hassaine that I read in December 2023.

But I really wanted to read The perfect match and The perfect love for a very very long time. Simply, since the majority of the books in my library are paperbacks, I waited for them to come out in paperback format. And to be completely honest with you, it's also a question of budget.

Anyway, now it's done and I'm pretty satisfied!

Synopsis

The story takes place in the 22nd century. In a society where everything or almost everything is controlled by science. Indeed, here, science also determines soul mates and authorized unions.

The plot follows Eliotte whose compatibility with Izaak Meeka is scientifically proven at 98.8%. She is therefore supposed to marry and move in with him in the weeks following their meeting. Problem #1? Her heart beats for Ashton, Izaak's little brother.

Problem #2? Eliotte and Izaac hate each other, they can't stay in the same room without arguing.

Eliotte will have to make choices that could change everything and will be at the heart of insurmountable dilemmas.

The duology explores important themes such as individual freedom, the quest for self and true love, power and manipulation, rebellion


What I thought of my reading

Honestly, this duology pleasantly surprised me! And yet, to be honest with you, even if I was really looking forward to reading it, I was also a little afraid of coming across a novel that was a little too adolescent.

Rest assured, this is not the case. Or maybe it didn't bother me. 😊

I really liked the futuristic universe where science takes control of the most personal aspects of our lives. (But I wouldn't want that to be the case in real life)

One of the strong points of the series is the way the author approaches moral dilemmas: follow the rules imposed by the State or listen to your heart, even if it means rebelling against an entire system?

The plot is well-paced, there is tension, apprehension, fear, disappointment. 👍

I really liked Eliotte, she is an endearing character, with whom I quickly identified. She goes through complicated phases, but always manages to get back up. Her character evolves over the pages, she goes from a vulnerable girl to a girl who has real convictions and who is combative.

I really liked her relationship with Izaac. Even if I sometimes wanted to insult Izaac for his behavior, especially at the beginning of volume 1 and at the beginning of volume 2. But over the pages, I liked discovering his sensitivity and his true self.

On the other hand, I didn't like Ashton very much. From the beginning, I didn't like the relationship between Ashton and Eliotte, nor his behavior. And that didn't change during the two volumes.

But otherwise, I loved one of the secondary characters: Matthew. He is the very definition of a true friend. Despite a few bad decisions, he is very endearing and gives hope. He is the sun of the story.

I liked volume 1 as much as volume 2. Volume 1 is mainly focused on the relationship between Eliotte, Ashton and Izaac and its evolution. While volume 2 is mainly focused on the rebellion against the system.

So if I had to criticize a little, I would say that in volume 2, there was not enough romance. Eliotte and Izaac's relationship was no longer in the foreground, and since I love romances, I was a little disappointed.

My rating

⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5

If I had to rate the complete duology, I would rate it 4 / 5 (which is a very good rating). I really enjoyed reading it, the twists and turns, the topics covered.

But I'm not giving it 5 stars because I found some passages a bit long, especially in the middle of volume 1 and in the middle of volume 2.

And what's next?

At the end of volume 2, in the acknowledgments, the author tells us that there is a sequel, well it's not really a sequel. But more of a spin-off, centered on Matthew: The perfect fall. Obviously, since I really liked Matthew's character, I really want to read his dedicated volume.

But since it was released on June 5, 2024 in France, we'll have to wait before getting the paperback version.

Have you read this duology yet? What did you think? Have you read the rest on Matthew? Do you like dystopias?

Anyway, I hope this review will make you want to dive into the world of Lyla Mars.

See you soon! 👋
Johanna

PS: I used Google Translate to translate the English part.


Version en français


20.png

Hello les amis et les booklovers ! 📚

Comment allez-vous ?

Ce week-end, j’ai enfin terminĂ© la duologie I’m not your soulmate de Lyla Mars. Elle est composĂ©e du tome 1 : The perfect match et du tome 2 : The perfect Love.

Et j’ai plutĂŽt bien aimĂ© ma lecture ! Alors je vais vous partager ma petite revue.

I’m not your soulmate est une dystopie, une romance contemporaine. Je n’ai pas l’habitude de lire de dystopie, la derniĂšre en date Ă©tait “Panorama” Ă©crit par Lilia Hassaine que j’ai lu en dĂ©cembre 2023.

Mais j’avais trĂšs envie de lire The perfect match et The perfect love depuis trĂšs trĂšs longtemps. Simplement, comme la majoritĂ© des livres de ma bibliothĂšque sont des livres de poche, j’ai attendu que ceux-ci sortent en format poche. Et pour ĂȘtre totalement honnĂȘte avec vous, c’est aussi une question de budget.

Bref, maintenant c’est chose faite et je suis plutît satisfaite ! 😊

Synopsis

L’histoire se dĂ©roule au XXIIe siĂšcle. Dans une sociĂ©tĂ© oĂč tout ou presque tout est contrĂŽlĂ© par la science. En effet, ici, la science dĂ©termine aussi les Ăąmes-sƓurs et les unions autorisĂ©es.

L'intrigue suit Eliotte dont la compatibilitĂ© avec Izaak Meeka est scientifiquement prouvĂ©e Ă  98,8 %. Elle est donc censĂ©e se marier et emmĂ©nager avec dans les semaines qui suivent leur rencontre. ProblĂšme n°1 ? Son cƓur, lui, bat pour Ashton, le petit frĂšre d'Izaak.

ProblĂšme n°2 ? Eliotte et Izaac se dĂ©testent, ils ne peuvent pas rester dans la mĂȘme piĂšce sans se disputer.

Eliotte devra faire des choix qui pourraient tout changer et sera au cƓur de dilemmes insurmontables.

La duologie explore des thĂšmes importants comme la libertĂ© individuelle, la quĂȘte de soi et de l’amour vĂ©ritable, le pouvoir et la manipulation, la rĂ©bellion


Ce que j’ai pensĂ© de ma lecture

Franchement, cette duologie m'a agrĂ©ablement surprise ! Et pourtant, pour ĂȘtre honnĂȘte avec vous, mĂȘme si j’avais vraiment hĂąte de la lire, j’avais aussi un peu peur de tomber sur un roman un peu trop adolescent.

Rassurez-vous, ce n’est pas le cas. Ou alors, ça ne m’a pas dĂ©rangĂ©. 😊

J'ai beaucoup aimĂ© l'univers futuriste oĂč la science prend le contrĂŽle des aspects les plus personnels de nos vies. (Mais je n’aimerais pas que ce soit le cas dans la vraie vie)

L'un des points forts de la sĂ©rie est la maniĂšre dont l'auteure aborde les dilemmes moraux : suivre les rĂšgles imposĂ©es par l'État ou Ă©couter son cƓur, quitte Ă  se rebeller contre tout un systĂšme ?

L'intrigue est bien menĂ©e, il y a de la tension, de l’apprĂ©hension, de la peur, de la dĂ©ception. 👍

J’ai beaucoup aimĂ© Eliotte, c’est un personnage attachant, auquel je me suis trĂšs vite identifiĂ©. Elle passe par des phases compliquĂ©es, mais arrive toujours Ă  se relever. Son personnage Ă©volue au fil des pages, elle passe d’une fille vulnĂ©rable Ă  une fille qui a de vraies convictions et qui est combative.

Sa relation avec Izaac m’a beaucoup plu. MĂȘme si j’ai parfois eu envie d’insulter Izaac pour son comportement, surtout au dĂ©but du tome 1 et au dĂ©but du tome 2. Mais au fil des pages, j’ai aimĂ© dĂ©couvrir sa sensibilitĂ© et son vrai lui.

En revanche, je n’ai pas beaucoup apprĂ©ciĂ© Ashton. DĂšs le dĂ©but, je n’ai pas apprĂ©ciĂ© la relation entre Ashton et Eliotte, ni son comportement. Et ça n’a pas changĂ© durant les deux tomes.

Mais sinon, j’ai adorĂ© un des personnages secondaires : Matthew. Il est la dĂ©finition mĂȘme d’un vrai ami. MalgrĂ© quelques petites mauvaises dĂ©cisions, il est trĂšs attachant et donne de l’espoir. Il est le soleil de l'histoire.

J’ai autant aimĂ© le tome 1 que le tome 2. Le tome 1 est surtout centrĂ© sur la relation entre Eliotte, Ashton et Izaac et son Ă©volution. Tandis que le tome 2 est surtout centrĂ© sur la rĂ©bellion contre le systĂšme.

Donc si je devais critiquer un petit peu, je dirai que dans le tome 2, il n’y avait pas assez de romance. La relation d’Eliotte et Izaac n’était plus au premier plan, et comme j’adore les romances, j’étais un peu déçu.

Ma note

⭐⭐⭐⭐ / 5

Si je devais mettre une note Ă  la duologie complĂšte, je mettrais 4 / 5 (ce qui est une trĂšs bonne note). J’ai vraiment apprĂ©ciĂ© ma lecture, les rebondissements, les sujets abordĂ©s.

Mais je ne mets pas 5 Ă©toiles car j’ai trouvĂ© certains passages un peu longs, notamment au milieu du tome 1 et au milieu du tome 2.

Et la suite ?

À la fin du tome 2, dans les remerciements, l'auteure nous annonce qu’il y a une suite, enfin ce n’est pas vraiment une suite. Mais plutĂŽt un spin off, centrĂ© sur Matthew : The perfect fall. Évidemment, comme j’ai beaucoup aimĂ© le personnage de Matthew, j’ai trĂšs envie de lire son tome dĂ©diĂ©.

Mais comme il est sorti le 5 juin 2024 en France, il va falloir patienter avant d’avoir la version poche.

Avez-vous déjà lu cette duologie ? Qu'en avez-vous pensé ? Avez-vous lu la suite sur Matthew ? Vous aimez les dystopies ?

Bref, j'espĂšre que cette revue vous donnera envie de plonger dans l'univers de Lyla Mars.

À bientît ! 👋
Johanna

PS : J’ai utilisĂ© Google traduction pour traduire la partie en anglais.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center