The Complete Walker, by Colin Fletcher

img_2609.jpg

Old and weathered, this was once a library book.

img_2621.jpg

Remember in #whoisalbuslucimus, Part 3: The Rucker, how I talked about my plan to roam the earth? Well my fellow former soldier and close friend, Jimi, from Wisconsin, found this book in a secondhand store after hearing about my plans - and bought for for me.

img_2622.jpg

That was more than 10 years ago now, and this beat up old hardback still remains among the top of my keep and re-read collection.

img_2608.jpg
The book is a well written hybrid between a rucking memoir and an experience-based technical guide. Fletcher talks about various loading weights - for all you crazy ruckers out there, he even gets into carrying heavier loads in one section!

img_2611.jpg
I’m typically used to getting comments from hikers about my pack exceeding 20% of my body weight. In this book he has an awesome section on carrying higher weights, amd it was awesome for me to read from someone who takes an approach so much like my own. …with that said, that is not the focus of the book and I think it really is a great read for all you practical hikers out there too :)

img_2610.jpg
Since the book reads like a memoir, his voice is critical to the overall tone of the book - and this guy brings it. The stories he tells grab your interest and keep your attention, his insights on the vast benefits of solitude in nature are inspiring, and he manages to squeeze in some pretty good humor at the same time!

Book details:
Borzoi Books
Published by Alfred A. Knopf
Copyrighted by author in 1968
Library of Congress Card Number: 68-23956
Manufactured in the United States of America
Distributed by Random House

img_2771.jpg

Updated 22 JAN 2022 - Thanks @twunders4u , for pointing out the omission!

If you like reading, Rucking (see the Rucking community!), nature, or stories of personal achievement ,I really don’t think this book will let you down.

Thanks for checking it out! Let me know if you have read or end up reading this, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

img_2455.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now