Finding Inspiration - The Story of HyperZENsitivosaurus continues...

ToonTellegen.jpeg

I moved into a new place two days ago, as mentioned in yesterday's write up / video Training for the Apocalypse

I was wondering, before I arrived, if there would be interesting books to read and browse through. Not just because I love to read - and if possible the old fashioned way - but also because, as a writer, I can always use inspiration.

My twin sister asked me yesterday or the day before - all the way from Portugal - if there were any interesting books around ( we call that 'Twin Power', thinking of the same thing around the same time )

Yesterday, in a moment of calm, I looked through the book shelves in the living room and my eye soon caught the book depicted above. Its title translates to:

Maybe They Knew Everything. 313 Stories about the Squirrel and The Other Animals.

Now I remember this writer's name - Toon Tellegen - as I read some of his books as a kid ( can't remember the titles though, as I've read an entire library of books as a kid ), so I decided to pick up this work.

I read a number of stories ( they are all very short, most of them about a page and a half ) in the last two days and I immediately took a liking to them, for various reasons: I like the briefness ( the opposite of how I write ), the dry humor ( I tend to think I'm funny ) and I really like the underlying wisdom ( almost Buddhist ).

And suddenly I pictured my Hypersensitivosaurus stories to be short instead of lengthy. The idea of having a bunch of them in a book felt pretty cool. I start(ed) to imagine a series of short stories, every single one of them telling us more about this special kind of lizard. Its interactions with other creatures ( for instance a crocodile called 'Old Krok' ) would slowly reveal his character.

I will sleep and possibly meditate on all this and am looking forward to start some writing tomorrow ( my mom is starting to become impatient ).

TO BE CONTINUED...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center