Genocidia [ENG - ESP]

IMG_20211027_172415.jpg

NEU.png

ENGLISH.png

The government had set up a camp for the ignorant children of the indigenous people, who for so many years had been a problem for society. I remember seeing the face of desolation of my parents, we were separated and we had no hope of a reunion so I kept as a treasure the last family photo we took at Christmas that year.

My eyes were burning with tears but there was nothing we could do, the Warner government wanted us to "reintegrate" into society as if we had been absent in a land we had been in long before the arrival of their settler ancestors. We were not allowed to speak our language or practice our traditions, if we did we risked being abused and mistreated to death.

This began with an attempt to eliminate the indigenous people and force us to be part of the mostly white culture of the country. At the time I did not understand how it was that being part of my people was forbidden, we had done nothing but the worst would happen inside the facilities of the Hukso Boarding School. The boarding school had long red walls and crosses proclaimed the surroundings to remind us that our executioners were the members of the Catholic Church.

ESPAÑOL.png

El gobierno había dispuesto un campamento para los ignorantes hijos de los indígenas, que por tanto años habían sido un problema para la sociedad. Recuerdo ver la cara de desolación de mis padres, nos separaban y no teníamos esperanzas de un reencuentro por lo que guarde como un tesoro la última foto familiar que nos sacamos en la navidad de ese año.

Mis ojos ardían de tanto llorar pero nada podíamos hacer, el gobierno de Warner quería que nos "reinsertáramos" en la sociedad como si hubiéramos estado ausentes en una tierra en la que hablamos estado mucho antes de la llegada de sus antepasados los colonos. A nosotros no se nos permitía hablar nuestro idioma o practicar nuestras tradiciones, si lo hacíamos corríamos el riesgo de ser abusados y maltratados hasta la muerte.

Esto comenzó con un intento por eliminar a los indígenas y forzarnos a ser parte de la cultura mayoritariamente blanca del país. En su tiempo no entendía como era que ser parte de mi pueblo era prohibido, nada habíamos hecho pero lo peor ocurriría dentro de las instalaciones del Internado de Hukso. El internado tenía largas paredes rojas y las cruces pregonaban las inmediaciones para recordarnos que nuestros verdugos eran los miembros de la iglesia católica.

NEU.png

I remember being mistreated for not knowing the Lord's Prayer or the prayers of the mass, I did not understand how it was that beings who studied the Bible could cause so much harm, not only to me but to hundreds of thousands of children who came to these boarding schools. I witnessed how some priests raped, mistreated and abused many of us. I myself was abused but I was fortunate to come out unscathed, many did not live to tell the tale.

I remember crying helplessly when two of my best friends, who were brothers, drowned in an attempt to escape in a makeshift canoe. I will never forget how their bodies were exposed so that the rest of us would feel terror and desist from fleeing in the future. I never imagined that many of my comrades who told us they were "returned to their families" were actually beaten to death and buried in mass graves.

But I am not surprised I would like to say something positive about my time in captivity but I can't find any record in my memory, perhaps the happiest moments were when we happened to steal something that didn't smell like spoiled food from the cupboard, even at the risk that if we were caught we could be brutally punished.

Recuerdo recibir maltratos por no saber el padre nuestro o las oraciones de la misa, no entendía como era que seres que estudiaban la Biblia podían causarnos tanto daño, no solo a mí sino a cientos de Miles de niños que llegaban a estos internados. Fui testigo de cómo algunos sacerdotes violaban, maltrataban y abusaban de muchos de nosotros. Yo mismo fui abusado pero tuve la suerte de salir ileso, muchos no vivieron para contarlo.

Recuerdo llorar de impotencia cuando dos de mis mejores amigos, los cuales eran hermanos murieron ahogados en un intento de escape en una canoa improvisada. Nunca olvidaré cómo fueron expuestos sus cuerpos para que los demás sintiéramos terror y desistiéramos de huir en el futuro. Yo nunca imaginé que muchos de mis compañeros que nos decían que eran "devueltos a su familiares" en realidad eran golpeados hasta morir y enterrados en fosas comunes.

Pero no me sorprende quisiera decir algo positivo acerca de mi tiempo en cautiverio pero no encuentro registro alguno en mi memoria, quizás los momentos más felices ocurrían cuando de casualidad lográbamos robar algo que no oliera a comida descompuesta dentro de la alacena, incluso bajo el riesgo de que si nos atrapaban podíamos ser brutalmente castigados.

NEU.png

I would try to do whatever was asked of me as an attempt to try to make my life there less difficult, but the only thing that gave me any noticeable hope was the friendships and close ties that bound me to my friends. English and French could not kill our language and that was the strongest weapon we had, today I look back and realize that they could not even kill my traditions.

What they could kill were hundreds of children who today cry out for justice and who for more than 135 years suffered the injustices of a government and a church that perpetrated such vile murders. Today I honor the victims who were never able to be reunited with their parents as I did that unforgettable summer, when in tears I was finally able to leave Hukso.

Yo trataba de hacer lo que sea que se me pedía como un intento de tratar de hacer menos difícil mi vida allí, pero lo único que me daba una notoria esperanza era las amistades y los estrechos vínculos que me unían a mis amigos. El inglés y el francés no podían acabar con nuestra lengua y esa era el arma más fuerte que teníamos, hoy miro en retrospectiva y me doy cuenta que ni siquiera pudieron matar mis tradiciones.

Lo que sí pudieron matar fueron a cientos de niños que hoy claman por justicia y que por más de 135 años sufrieron las injusticias de un gobierno y una iglesia que perpetraron tan viles asesinatos. Hoy honro a las víctimas que nunca pudieron reencontrarse con sus padres tal como yo lo hice en aquel verano inolvidable, cuando en medio de lágrimas por fin pude salir de Hukso.

NEU.png


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Aliciente
Cataplum Cataplam
Rosario

Translated by me & also using Deepl

The image in the cover is mine

GIF elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center