Childhood memories [ENG - ESP]]

IMG-20211114-WA0025.jpg

NEU.png

ENGLISH.png

The tree house was not very spacious even though we had spent all that summer collecting small pieces of wood, the work we had done with Tamar our neighbor had been worth it, all that was before the domestic gas crisis in my country that we suffered almost a decade ago.

My parents used to tell my brother and me not to climb so high because we could fall and die irremediably, but we ignored those apocalyptic warnings, we just wanted to build a fort to make our imagination fly since we didn't have many friends back then.

I learned to climb trees since I was a child, so being in the heights was not a problem for me since I knew every leaf of that greenish foliage, but Mother never wanted me to do the same as Robín did, in fact he didn't like to involve me in his adventures either, but I didn't pay attention to them.

ESPAÑOL.png

La casa en el árbol era poco espaciosa a pesar de que habíamos pasado todo aquel verano recolectando piezas pequeñas de madera, el trabajo que habíamos hecho con Tamar nuestro vecino había valido la pena, todo eso fue antes de la crisis de gas doméstico en mi país que sufrimos hace casi una década.

Mis padres nos decían a mi hermano y a mí que no nos subiéramos tan alto porque podríamos caer y morir irremediablemente, pero hacíamos caso omiso a esas advertencias apocalípticas solo queríamos construir un fuerte para hacer volar nuestra imaginación ya que por aquel entonces no teníamos muchos amigos.

Yo aprendí a trepar árboles desde muy niña, así que estar en las alturas no era un problema para mí ya que conocía cada hoja de aquel follaje verdoso, pero Madre nunca quiso que yo hiciera lo mismo que hacía Robín de hecho a él tampoco le gustaba mucho involucrarme en sus aventuras pero yo no les hacía caso.

NEU.png

The adventures we made up after months without domestic gas consisted in looking for firewood in the abandoned cemetery of the city. I remember one time I couldn't even be terrified of graves or skeletons, in fact I was never afraid of anything when I was in the company of big brother.

On the contrary, I had fun reading the strange words inscribed on the tombs and meditated on the years of life that each of the people buried there enjoyed. My parents did not know about our adventures in the dangerous cemetery but were grateful for the supply of firewood since in those early years of the millennium an oil strike left Venezuela almost bankrupt.

Together with Tamar, Robin and I rode the streets of the town with enthusiasm on two bicycles that gave us a lot of life and fun in our childhood, but there was a difference in years that made that when my brother entered high school, I lost my best friend.

Las aventuras que nos inventábamos después de meses sin gas doméstico consistían en buscar leña en el cementerio abandonado de la ciudad. Recuerdo que en una oportunidad ni siquiera podía estar aterrada por las tumbas o por los esqueletos, de hecho nunca le tuve miedo a nada estando en compañía de hermano mayor.

Por el contrario me divertía leyendo las extrañas palabras inscritas en las tumbas y meditaba acerca de los años de vida que lograron disfrutar cada una de las personas allí enterradas. Mis padres no sabían de nuestras aventuras en el peligrosos cementerio pero agradecían la provisión de leña ya que por aquellos años de principios de milenio un paro petrolero dejo a Venezuela casi en la quiebra.

Junto a Tamar, Robin y yo recorríamos las calles del pueblo con entusiasmo en dos bicicletas que nos dieron mucha vida y diversión en nuestra infancia, pero había una diferencia de años que hizo que al entrar mi hermano en la secundaria, yo perdiera a mi mejor amigo.

NEU.png

Men did not hang out with women and my brother began to be a rebellious young man who often used violence to make himself heard. I, on the other hand, enjoyed Tamar until we both started high school and were no longer in the same classroom.

Nothing would ever be the same again, people change, I don't know if it's for better or for worse, but even I myself lost that illusion that only childhood can give you. Now children are in a hurry to become adults and I wish they wouldn't, since it is the most beautiful stage of our lives. Without problems or grudges there will always be a child inside us longing for more adventures.

Los hombres no se juntaban con las mujeres y mi hermano comenzó a ser un joven rebelde que muchas veces ejercía la violencia para hacerse escuchar. Yo por el contrario, disfrute a Tamar hasta que ambos comenzamos la secundaria y no coincidimos en el mismo salón de clases.

Nada volvería a ser lo que fue, la gente cambia no sé si es para bien o para mal pero hasta yo misma perdí esa ilusión que solo la infancia te puede otorgar. Ahora los niños se apresuran a ser adultos y quisiera que no lo hicieran, puesto que es la etapa más hermosa de nuestras vidas. Sin problemas ni rencores siempre habrá un niño en nuestro interior anhelando más aventuras.

NEU.png


𝐀𝐧𝐨𝐭𝐡𝐞𝐫 𝐩𝐨𝐬𝐭𝐬 𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐡𝐨𝐫𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 | 𝐎𝐭𝐫𝐚𝐬 𝐩𝐮𝐛𝐥𝐢𝐜𝐚𝐜𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐞𝐬 𝐝𝐞 𝐦𝐢 𝐚𝐮𝐭𝐨𝐫í𝐚:


Bakery Stories
Tobago the Tarotist
Freedom

Translated by me & also using Deepl

Image in the cover is mine

GIF elaborated by @equipodelta

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center