Ramsay Street School reveals derelict shadows for smash 343

Hello Hello Hivians

Hello Hello shadow hunters and hello hello to all you sunny positive people of the wonderful Hive blockchain.....

This year October started beautifully, the sun shone and when I was out on the second of October going somewhere, I went past this old derelict primary school on a street around the corner from me.

Sun means long shadows for me and that of course means a shadows hunters post!

So let's go....

I told you it was sunny!

I think at least one of the collection of photos that I am going to show you includes that beautiful big ball of yellow life.

History and Architecture lesson

So you can see there are two buildings and originally they were a primary school and an infants school.

They were designed by the Kirkcaldy architect Robert Little (1835 - 1901).

Little’s school was an irregular T-plan form single-storey school with numerous skew-slabbed gothic gables and was built of grey sandstone for 600 pupils in Ramsay Road, Linktown. It cost £6000; is now C-Listed, and was opened by Sir Michael Barker Nairn with around 130 pupils, many of whom came from the Links Philp School which then closed. This school of 1890-1 in Ramsay Road and the adjoining Infant building of 1898 by William Williamson were for a time converted to offices but have now been closed and empty for a number of years.

Source Kirkcaldy Civic Society

In the UK we have a listing system for historical buildings, where it is spelled out what you can and can't do with a building. It is such a shame that these buildings go to rack and ruin. I guess that is life now though, it is all about having new things and instant gratification!

Iron railings make for some beautiful symmetrical and straight lined shadows.

Mind you,during the great wars they were often cut down to used for munitions etc as scrap metal obviously got very scarce.

I mentioned the school was derelict, and in theory is chained off, although the building at the bottom seems to have been sold, as there were people in there cleaning it out and boarding some of the windows.

But a derelict buildng means a derelict playground and weeds or wild flowers have made their mark and that is what we are seeing in the shadows as well.

Well i goofed with this pic and the sun won, I was going to show the nice pattern on the gates. Ahwell, there is always another time!

That another time is now, so you sort of see the pattern, but not the shadow pattern!

Here we actually do have the patterned shadow and would you look at that, we got the lock box included for free!

What a bonus...

If you are like me, then you can see or visualise something out of nothing ....

For example this reminds me of ....

... a vase of flowers or maybe roses on a dining table!

More gates for the other buliding, and I need to skedaddle as I had a date on the beach to get to!

There you go, I did tell you that we had a beautiful day and I captured that big ball of golden yellow fire in the sky!

That actually warmed me up looking at that!

The power of a photograph is pretty strong!!

Okay, before we wrap this up, this is the bottom bottom and you can see the plywood boards they were putting in the window frames.

But now, decisions, decisions, decisions!

Yes it's that time for me to choose my entry picture!

So here 👇👇👇 is my entry for Show Me A Shadow - Round 343

That was the toughest choice I have had to make with my shadows posts!

In the end it is my image of a vase of flowers on a dining table that won it today!

I have chosen this picture because of it's simplicity and focus on the flowers on the table!

After all we shadow hunting, and that should be the focus of the picture!

I never know which picture to choose as the entry, and these ones are quite varied to say the least!

What do you think? Did I pick the suitable one, or would you have chosen another one?

image.png

This is my contribution to Shadow Hunters SMASh Contest - Round 343 from the marvellously magical @melinda010100 and the simply superb Shadow Hunters community.

Thanks for visiting and enjoy the rest of your day!

image.png


All images and ramblings are from me, the mad Scotsman TengoLoTodo unless otherwise stated. All photos captured with my Google Pixel 9 Pro XL and have not been edited.
@tengolotodo October 12th 2024 (Oct 6 Premium 1 VR)

DO WHAT YOU LOVE AND DO IT OFTEN

Haste Ye Back!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center