A Heartland Sculpture Walk / Shadow Contest Entry / SMASh round 221

A few weeks ago, I found myself deep in the Heartland doing some shadow hunting in Des Moines, Iowa. I had just finished a five month gig in LA and decided to visit my family and friends that live in South Dakota.

My parents love and collect books and every year they make the 4 hour drive to Des Moines to a huge book festival which supports planned parenthood. They go on the last day of the sale when everything is 75% off and always end up with a huge pile of goods all for a great cause. I hadn't been to Des Moines in years and we thought it be a nice road trip so off we went!

We had some time to kill before the sale and found a cozy sculpture walk near the downtown area. The art pieces created some really neat shadows and I captured them!

img_1263_1_.jpg

This first picture is my entry. In the foreground is the shadow of a piece called "T8" by Mark Di Suvero born China, 1933. It's the only one I won't show the actual art of to leave it to the imagination. Easy to search for if you're curious!

img_1259.jpg

A close second would have been this cool light structure called "Panoramic awareness pavillion" by Olafur Eliasson born Danish 1967.

img_1260.jpg

Here's what the actual piece looked like.

img_1249.jpg

It wouldn't be the Midwest / Heartland without a horse. This one made for a neat shadow called "Ancient Forest" by Deborah Butterfield born America.

img_1248.jpg

Here is the actual piece.

img_1251.jpg

Finally this was my favorite sculpture in the whole park and while it didn't have a great shadow worth capturing, I wanted to share anyway. It's called "Spider" by Louise Bourgeois born France.

This post was was made for the weekly Shadow Hunters contest. It's a fun thing to do and there are always a bunch of great entries, why not try it yourself? Be sure to check and out support the current entries in the comments of this post: Shadow Hunters Community Contest - Round 221

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now