One (more) afternoon without power: My story about one of the most dramatic faces of the Venezuelan crisis

English Version

Wednesday, 6:05 p.m., March 13 of the current year (2024). For the second time this week, another power outage occurs in my city; San Diego, Carabobo. The temperature in the environment is simply terrible. The wind chill is 36 degrees Celsius in the shade, and the humidity is oppressive. Perhaps, the members of this community, or the people who read this post, do not know the details of the crisis in Venezuela... This story is not about how my existence sucks (because it doesn't) but about how fed upness can affect the psyche of a person...

I decided not to be at home. As I have mentioned before, it was not the first time that due to the heat, the time of the year and a lot of other logical reasons, a service so essential to the quality of life of a human being repeatedly fails.... I went out to photograph the sunset of a sweltering day. In my mind, I could not be the only girl outraged, frustrated and annoyed with the reality we live in. However, what I noticed was the adaptation to misery. Or what is the same; getting used to the fact that nothing works effectively....

I noticed that no matter how hard the situations we are going through as a country, as citizens and as human beings, they are left aside. Peace of mind prevails even more. That, or that the experiences of the past with respect to the struggle against those who have us in this situation, left its mark on everyone. It is not possible to overthrow or protest with such inequality of powers. Electricity, water or any service to improve our lives; fails almost on a daily basis. It is always important, I suppose, to try to tame stress.

Just imagine being with the characteristics I have already mentioned and detailed, and having to systematically endure 4 hours of something like that.... In my life, sometimes you need these catharsis sales; a dose of release from so much stress and bitterness. Besides, the atmosphere near my house, and the colors of the sunset, contrasted with my reality. Something, personally, I am grateful for. If there is something beautiful, I will almost always associate it with what nature can offer us....

But I don't want to read corny. Red, yellow, orange and some purple. Colors that reflect the entrance of night into an evening that inevitably has to "die". If you ask me (which I know you don't), I will confess that those hours: between 18:00 and 19:00 are among my favorites. There is something that relaxes me. I always admire how no sunset looks like the ones I've seen before. I try to focus on that. Also, being a mother, I've made it a goal to teach myself to overcome problems.... I need to leave out some things that make me sad and make me feel tired and frustrated..... I'm sorry if this post feels pitiful or sad.

Version en Español

Miércoles, 18:05 p.m, 13 de marzo del año actual (2024). Por segunda vez en lo que va de semana, ocurre otro corte eléctrico en mi ciudad; San Diego, Carabobo. La temperatura en el ambiente es sencillamente terrible. La sensación térmica es de 36 grados Celsius a la sombra, y la humedad, agobiante. Quizá, los miembros de esta comunidad, o las personas que lean este post, no conozcan bien los detalles de la crisis en Venezuela... Esta historia no va de cómo mi existencia es una porquería (porque no lo es) pero sí como el hartazgo puede llegar a afectar la psique de una persona...

Decidí no estar en casa. Como ya lo he mencionado anteriormente, no era la primera vez que debido al calor, a la temporada del año y a un montón de razones lógicas más, un servicio tan esencial para la calidad de vida de un ser humano falla reiteradamente... Salí a fotografíar el atardecer de un día sofocante. En mi mente, no podía ser la única chica indignada, frustrada y molesta con la realidad que nos toca vivir. Sin embargo, lo que noté fue la adaptación a la miseria. O lo que es lo mismo; habituarse a que nada funcione eficazmente...

Noté muchísimo que por más duras que sean las situaciones que atravesamos como país, como ciudadanos y como seres humanos; se dejan a un lado. La paz mental, predomina aún más. Éso, o que las experiencias del pasado con respecto a la lucha contra quienes nos tienen en esta situación, dejó la huella en todos. No se puede derrocar o protestar con tal desigualdad de poderes. La electricidad, el agua o cualquier servicio para mejorar nuestras vidas; falla casi que a diario. Siempre es importante, supongo, tratar de domar al estrés.

Tan sólo imagínense estar con las características que ya he mencionado y detallado, y tener que soportar sistemáticamente 4 horas de algo así... En mi vida, en ocasiones, necesitas estas ventas de catarsis; una dosis de liberación de tanto estrés y amargura. Además, el ambiente cerca de mi casa, y los colores del ocaso, contrastaba con mi realidad. Algo, que personalmente, agradezco. Si hay algo hermoso, casi siempre lo asociaré a lo que la naturaleza pueda ofrecernos...

Pero no quiero leerme cursi. Rojo, amarillo, naranja y algo de púrpura. Colores que reflejan la entrada de la noche hacia una tarde que inevitablemente tiene que "morir". Si me preguntan (que sé que no lo hacen), les confesaré que ésa hora: entre las 18:00 y las 19:00 son de mis favoritas. Hay algo que me relaja. Siempre admiro cómo ningún atardecer se parece a los que ya he visto anteriormente. Intento enfocarme en eso. Además, al ser madre, me he puesto como meta enseñarle a sobreponerse a los problemas... Necesito dejar afuera algunas cosas que me entristecen y me hacen sentir cansada y frustrada... Lamento si este post se siente lamentable o triste.

All the pictures used in this post, have been taken by me...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center