SOME LOVELY SHADOWS ON THE ROAD for the Shadow Hunters/SMASh Contest- Round 240

Yesterday, I walked from my house to the car repair shop at the edge of town for the reasons explained in yesterday's post published in the Wednsdey Walk community. Besides the houses, churches, traffic signs, and various ordinary stuff seen along the road, I photographed also some shadows on that one-kilometer-long walk. In today's post, I'll walk the same road again, but this time the focus will be strictly on the shadows.

In this opening shot, you can see some very common roadside shadows, the white line in the middle of the road, and the car that passed by while I was taking the photograph, focused on getting the shadows in the right place for a good composition. The partially visible car gives a bit of depth to the flat shadowland in which I was trying to catch something that fits this community.

(Enlargeable)

I passed by many nicely shaped gates and wrought iron fences on my way to the edge of town.

Some of those constructions provided elegant and intricate shadows.

It was an easy hunt.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see a different kind of gate with a simpler geometric shadow.

(Enlargeable)

From a lower angle, things looked more dynamic. I thought that a car would be a nice addition to this composition ...

(Enlargeable)

... so I waited for one to pass by.

Here you can see the shadow of an old gate with some simple bars and just one circle. In the following photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... you can take a wider look at the same scene.

In this case, a combination of the fence and the trees behind it created a messy mix of shadows.

Here you can see the most unique shadow I encountered on my yesterday's hunt.

The holes in the metal plate of the gate formed simple floral shapes that created an oasis of light in the middle of the shadow.

Here you can see another simple gate and its simple shadow.

(Enlargeable)

AND THAT'S IT. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center