Shadow Hunters #204: Drawing Bulbasaur

20220129_110025_0000.png

Feeling Creative

Hello there, Shadow Hunters! After that rather boring set of shadow photos for the last round, this time I am feeling a bit creative! Lol, don't expect too much. This was another impromptu art session with my Little Miss when I decided to join her while drawing in her spare time.

I actually kind of miss this random art time with her -- she's been spending much of her spare time playing (both online and outdoors) and actually we both felt that she was falling back on her arts. A couple of weeks ago, we bought some new art materials including these coloring pencils. These pencils need to be put into use so...

IMG_20220128_101506.jpg

Drawing Bulbasaur

Little Miss found this reference from the Pokemon website. She and her siblings love Pokemon and she is starting to draw a series of Pokemon characters in which she already started with Pikachu. This time, she chose Bulbasaur.

IMG_20220126_164010-01.jpeg

I sat next to her and started with my own sketch. Pardon the drawing. I tried. LOL.

Reference: Pokemon.com

Sketching was okay but as usual, my challenge was coloring the drawing. My daughter was constantly trying the mix of colors so we can get as close to the reference. Along the way, she noticed how I was holding my pencil.

"Mommy, the way you hold your pencil is weird," she said. That, I know. I had that comment many times before. I never expected my 7-year-old girl to notice though. I remember my grandma trying to teach me how to hold the pencil in a more relaxed manner -- she had immaculate handwriting. Needless to say, she did not succeed in changing my ways. LOL. But neither is my handwriting bad, so that's fine by me.😁

IMG_20220126_165355.jpg

Shadows on Bulbasaur

After a while, it got dark outside and we had to turn on the lights. I noticed shadows on my drawing and thought, this is my chance to collect some shadow photos!

We had to mix a few shades of green to get as close to the original Bulbasaur color. We barely got it but that's still okay.

IMG_20220126_180620-01.jpeg

IMG_20220126_182803-01.jpeg

Bulbasaur looked kinda playful here. Hehe.

"Hey, don't poke my nose!"

A shade of black to darken the colors and put some shadows too...

I think I like this photo so it's also going to be my entry for this week's Shadow Hunters SMASh Contest-Round 204.

IMG_20220126_180422-01.jpeg

I used color pencils on the body and some oil pastels on the bulb. And while we're at it, how about a full-body shot?

Eeekks, can you see the shadow of my phone here?

Whew! Who would have thought that a shadow hunter's post will come out from this art activity? LOL. I enjoyed drawing with my girl and as usual, taking some shadow photos for the community.

Have a great weekend, everyone!

arrliinn footer.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now